Evans and George stretch joBerg2c lead to nine minutes

2012-05-03 00:00

KEVIN Evans and David George had more than winning on their minds as they extended their comfortable overall lead to almost nine minutes on day six of the nine-day Old Mutual joBerg2c yesterday.

The Nedbank 360Life riders were racing for a greater purpose as they sealed their third stage victory in 3:17:13 on the 94 km route from Glengarry resort in the Kamberg district to Hazeldene Farm near Underberg.

They were followed home by RE:CM’s stage five winners, Neil MacDonald and Waylon Woolcock, in 3:21:08, while the Itec Connect-Vodacom team of David Morison and Louis Bresler Knipe took the final podium spot in 3:29:45.

Evans and George claimed the R10 000 prize money and made good on their promise to donate a wheelchair per stage win to the Cycling for Mobility cause.

“We wanted to give away another wheelchair, so we weren’t going to mess around with it today,” said Evans. “My boss just said to think about the kids who would love to ride a bike and can’t because they are confined to a wheelchair — or don’t even have one. That makes you dig a little deeper.”

With the FedGroup-Itec Connect team of Brandon Stewart and Jacques Rossouw slipping from third to ninth overall due to Rossouw’s illness, Evans said only defending champions RE:CM posed a serious threat.

“But it seems they’re also happy to give a bit of money away to charity, so if they want to work and take another stage win, we won’t object.”

Evans said day six’s challenging mix of district roads and nearly 2 000 metres of climbing had suited him and George. “We’d marked it off as a stage that we could win.”

As the first of the big climbs approached, Evans and his team-mate set a hard tempo, with only the RE:CM riders able to follow.

George launched a second attack after the 30 km mark on the long ascent up Snow Top Mountain, at 1 850 metres the highest point on the 910 km race route. They built a lead of almost two minutes, but MacDonald and Woolcock, accompanied by Transact’s Nico Bell and Stewart riding solo, gained time on the 12 km descent to narrow the gap to 50 seconds.

However, at the 60 km mark, the leaders showed their skill on the next rocky climb, the ominously named Death Valley Road, and increased their lead to just under two minutes.

The four-time BOE sani2c champion said he was looking forward to riding the next three stages: “Knowing the next couple of days, the riding really suits us. Tomorrow ends in a bit of an uphill drag, so if there’s a sprint it could be good for us.”

There was some excitement in the mixed category as Johan Labuschagne and Yolande de Villiers of Cycle Lab KTM made an early break, but they were eventually hauled in by overall leaders Erik and Ariane Kleinhans of Contego 28E.

The husband and wife team once again crossed the line first (3:52:24), followed by the Cycle Lab KTM duo (3:56:27) and the PeptoPro-bizhub pairing of Carel Bosman and Leana de Jager (4:17:07).

Bizhub-FCF’s Ischen Stopforth and Catherine Williamson had a tough stage, but still took the win in the women’s category in 4:14:00, ahead of Itec Connect-Vodacom’s Sarah van Heerden and Jackie Church.


Men: 1. Kevin Evans & David George (Nedbank 360Life): 3:17:13

2. Neil MacDonald & Waylon Woolcock (RE:CM): 3:21:08

3. David Morison & Louis Bresler Knipe (Itec Connect-Vodacom): 3:29:45

Women: 1. Ischen Stopforth & Catherine Williamson (bizhub-FCF): 4:14:00

2. Sarah van Heerden & Jackie Church (Itec Connect-Vodacom): 4:27:08

Mixed: 1. Erik Kleinhans & Ariane Kleinhans (Contego 28E): 3:52:24

2. Johan Labuschagne & Yolande de Villiers (Cycle Lab KTM): 3:56:27

3. Carel Bosman & Leana de Jager (PeptoPro-bizhub): 4:17:07


Men: 1. Kevin Evans & David George (Nedbank 360Life): 23:18:07

2. Neil MacDonald & Waylon Woolcock (RE:CM): 23:26:50

3. David Morison & Louis Bresler Knipe (Itec Connect-Vodacom): 24:02:53

Women: 1. Ischen Stopforth & Catherine Williamson (bizhub-FCF): 27:26:02

2. Sarah van Heerden & Jackie Church (Itec Connect-Vodacom): 28:45:14

Mixed: 1. Erik Kleinhans & Ariane Kleinhans (Contego 28E): 25:44:35

2. Johan Labuschagne & Yolande de Villiers (Cycle Lab KTM): 26:34:04

3. Carel Bosman & Leana de Jager (PeptoPro-bizhub): 27:46:03

Join the conversation!

24.com encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions.

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire 24.com network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.