Ex-Sharks included for Boks

2011-06-21 00:00

TWO more former Sharks, tighthead prop BJ Botha and lock Johann Muller, are now playing their rugby with Ulster, were yesterday included in the 49-man preliminary World Cup Rugby squad.

With Botha and Muller joining scrumhalf Ruan Pienaar, recent Lions signing Butch James and the French-based Frans Steyn — there are now five Sharks old boys in the squad.

Remarkably, coach Peter de Villiers also included 21 members of the triumphant 2007 Rugby World Cup-winning squad among the 49.

The SA Rugby Union said yesterday that the names had to be submitted to the International Rugby Board as part of a requirement of RWC planning. However, the list is not definitive and the final squad can include players from outside this group of players.

The Springboks’ Tri-Nations squad will be named on July 2 or 9 — depending on South African involvement in the Super Rugby final — with the final 30-man World Cup group being announced on 23 August.

De Villiers said, “I’m very happy with the squad. We have got a good blend of youth and experience as well as including some uncapped players who have forced their way into contention for selection with their performances in Super Rugby.

“Our planning is at an advanced stage for the international season and the vast majority of these players have attended one or both of our planning camps. Our Tri-Nations squad will be drawn from this group once we have been able to sort out those players who are carrying injuries at the end of the Super Rugby competition.”

Ten players omitted from the recent World Cup planning group in Durban have been recalled. They are Bjorn Basson, Dean Greyling, Alistair Hargreaves, Adi Jacobs, Elton Jantjies, Ricky Januarie, Ryan Kankowski, Zane Kirchner, Francois Louw and Deon Stegmann.

Zimbabwe-born Brian Mujati, the tighthead prop who received rave reviews in England, has reportedly been omitted as Saru and waits for his South African citizenship to be finalised.

The Sharks have 12 current players in the squad, but six others who started against the Bulls on Saturday, centres Stefan Terblanche and Meyer Bosman, scrumhalf Charl McLeod, lock Gerhard Mostert and loose forwards Keegan Daniel and Jean Deysel, along with Frenchman Frederic Michalak, miss out.


Preliminary Springbok World Cup squad (in alphabetical order):

John Smit (c), Victor Matfield (v/c), Willem Alberts, Gio Aplon, Andries Bekker, Bjorn Basson, Bakkies Botha, BJ Botha, Heinrich Brüssow, Schalk Burger, Juan de Jongh, Jean de Villiers, Bismarck du Plessis, Jannie du Plessis, Fourie du Preez, Jaque Fourie, Dean Greyling, Bryan Habana, Alistair Hargreaves, Francois Hougaard, Adi Jacobs, Butch James, Elton Jantjies, Ricky Januarie, Ashley Johnson, Ryan Kankowski, Zane Kirchner, Werner Kruger, Pat Lambie, Francois Louw, Tendai Mtawarira, Johann Muller, Lwazi Mvovo, Odwa Ndungane, Wynand Olivier, Coenie Oosthuizen, Ruan Pienaar, JP Pietersen, Chiliboy Ralepelle, Danie Rossouw, Juan Smith, Pierre Spies, Gurthrö Steenkamp, Deon Stegma

nn, Francois Steyn, Morné Steyn, Adriaan Strauss, Flip van der Merwe, Duane Vermeulen.

Join the conversation!

24.com encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions.

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire 24.com network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.