Favourites held faith with the punters

2009-10-13 00:00

PRE-RACE favourites Stuart MacLaren from Michaelhouse and Kerry Segal from Kingsway High in Amanzimtoti held faith with the punters by winning the boys’ and girls’ categories at the Capitol Caterers-Popes Canoe Centre interschools’ Shongweni race on Saturday.

MacLaren was given a good run for his money by St Charles star Lance Kime in the 14-kilometre flat water race on Shongweni Dam winning the final sprint by less than a second.

Under 16 Blaine Berresford from Maritzburg College, took the third place about 40 seconds later. With four paddlers in the first seven, Michaelhouse were the top school in the boys’ race.

Segal’s comfortable win of just over two minutes ahead of Epworth’s Jenna Starr, reinforces her position at the top of girls’ marathon canoeing in South Africa after her win in the South Africa Marathon championships in June and a fantastic eighth place at the World Junior Marathon championships in Portugal last month. This took place in the U16 category with another two years as a junior still ahead. Tamika Haw from Epworth took the third spot just three seconds clear of another U16, Brittany Petersen, also from Epworth.

The guppy race was won by Josh Cawood from Thomas Moore and Cana Peek from Epworth Primary.

An encouraging aspect of the event was the strong entry of more than 30 paddlers in the beginners’ race. There was especially good support from paddlers participating in the new schools’ initiative in the Durban area. Dillon Antonizzi from Kearsney won the boys’ section and Cindy Stephens from Danville Girls High won the girls’ race.

The next event in the 2009 interschools challenge is the Upper Umgeni C class river race on Saturday.



U8 — Amy Peckett EPW 8,41.

U10 — Daniel Dillon CLI 12,46 and Courtney Smith DAN 14,34.

U12 — Josh Cawood TMS 14,31 and Cana Peek EPW 16,43.



1. Ant Millar MIC 1:25,24, 2. Louis Hattingh MAR 1:26,09, 3. James Wewege MAR 1:34,26.


1. Bianca Haw EPW 1:37:42, 2. Jordan Taylor ATH 1:51,12, 3. Courtney MacKenzie TWC 1:51,59.



1. Blaine Berresford MAR 1:12,18, 2. Donovan Wewege MAR 1:13,55, 3. Andrew Houston MIC 1:14,13.


1. Kerry Segal KNG 1:20,01, 2. Brittany Petersen EPW 1:23,05, 3. Kate Arnott STA 1:37,28.



1. Stuart MacLaren MIC 1:11,30, 2. Lance Kime STC 1:11,31, 3. Owen Gandar MIC 1:13,30.


1. Jenna Starr EPW 1:22,04, 2. Tamika Haw EPW 1:23,02, 3. Kate Johnson EPW 1:37,45.

Join the conversation!

24.com encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions.

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire 24.com network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.