Five KZN Inland players crack nod for SA men’s indoor hockey team

2010-03-12 00:00

FIVE KwaZulu-Natal Inland players have been selected for the South African men’s team that will participate in the Indoor Hockey World Cup Africa qualifiers in Windhoek, Namibia from May 1 to 9.

Ryan Gray, Darryn Gallagher, Simon Johnson, Stuart Gower-Jackson and Craig Haley will be going to Namibia in search of Africa’s single slot at the Indoor Hockey World Cup finals in Poland next February.

KZN Inland’s Tracy Bestall was chosen as a non-travelling reserve for the national women’s side, who play their Africa qualifier in Windhoek at the same time. The national selectors named the teams and non-travelling reserves after the interprovincial tournament, won by the KZN Inland men’s team and Southern Gauteng women’s squad over the weekend.

The national teams have a strong link to institutions in KZN’s capital.

Of the SA men’s line-up, Gray, Gallagher, Johnson, Gower-Jackson and Southern Gauteng’s Shaun Davenhill went to Maritzburg College and PMB Varsity. Haley was at PMB Varsity. Among the non-travelling reserves, Dale Isaac of Western Province was at Maritzburg College; and North West’s Matt Fairweather and Western Province’s Dylan Piatti (formerly Ball) were at Hilton College.

KZN Inland’s Ayden Shrives, unlucky not to make the national team for the 2007 Indoor World Cup, must have again come close to selection. The manager of synthetic hockey turf market leader Belgotex Greenfields in PMB was also at Maritzburg College and PMB Varsity.

Of the SA women’s team, Celia Evans of North West is a past pupil of PMB Girls’ High and a product of KZN Inland. KZN Coastals’ Kim Pretorius went to Carter and PMB Varsity, and new national team-mates Kelly Madsen (KZN Coastal) and Loreen Irvine (North West) were pupils at St Mary’s in Kloof. Non-travelling reserve Fay Irvine of North West is also St Mary’s old girl, while Bestall is a sports organiser at Epworth.


Men: Ryan Gray, Darryn Gallagher, Simon Johnson, Stuart Gower-Jackson, Craig Haley (all KZN Inland); Marc de Jager, Lance Louw, Miguel da Graca, Shaun Davenhill (all Southern Gauteng); Michael Botha, Ryan Beaumont (both KZN Coastal); Dylan Piatti (Western Province). Non-Travelling reserves: Gowan Jones, Bruce Grant, Sihle Ntuli (all KZN Coastal); Matt Fairweather (North West); Vaughn Erasmus, Dale Isaac (both Western Province); Dylan Coombes, Ryan Roberts (both Southern Gauteng).

Women: Pietie Coetzee, Marsha Marescia, Lisa-Marie Deetlefs, Tsoanelo Pholo (all Southern Gauteng); Cindy Botha, Kelly Madsen, Kim Pretorius, Terri-Lee Chelin (all KZN Coastal); Loreen Irvine, Elzanne Smith, Celia Evans (all North West); Camilla Jasson (Eastern Gauteng). Non-Travelling reserves: Tracy Bestall (KZN Inland); Fay Irvine, Sulette Damons (both North West); Leandri Janse van Rensburg (Southern Gauteng).

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions. publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.