Five changes to junior Boks team for Wales semi-final match

2013-06-18 00:00

VANNES — The Junior boks have five changes in the starting line-up against Wales in the IRB Junior World Championship rugby semi-final in France, tonight.

Flyhalf Robert du Preez returns to play in the No 10 jersey while Handré Pollard moves to inside centre in place of Rohan Janse van Rensburg. Stefan Ungerer reclaims the No 9 jersey from his Sharks provincial team-mate Hanco Venter.

Andrew Beerwinkel will start at loose head prop in place of Sti Sithole while Luan de Bruin is restored to the side after missing the match against France because of suspension. De Bruin’s suspension of four weeks was set aside following a successful appeal. Marné Coetzee therefore moves to the bench to make way for De Bruin.

Among the replacements, flanker Kwagga Smith comes in for the injured Jannes Kirsten while Justin Geduld, who missed the French match because of a slight knee injury, was included among the backs after passing a fitness test yesterday.

Junior Springboks coach Dawie Theron commented: “This is a very important match for us and we know that Wales are a well-coached side with a good structure and especially a very good kicking game.

“We have done our homework and believe that we are a well-prepared physical side and we are comfortable with the way we want to play. The team are looking forward to play in this semi-final match.”

Kick-off time is 6.15 pm and SuperSport will show both semi-finals live, with broadcasting starting from 6 pm.


15. Cheslin Kolbe (Western Province). 14. Luther Obi (Leopards). 13. Dries Swanepoel (Blue Bulls). 12. Handré Pollard (Blue Bulls). 11. Seabelo Senatla (SARU contracted). 10. Robert du Preez (The Sharks). 9. Stefan Ungerer (The Sharks). 8. Ruan Steenkamp (captain, Blue Bulls).

7. Jacques du Plessis (Blue Bulls). 6. Roelof Smit (Blue Bulls). 5. Dennis Visser (Blue Bulls). 4. Irné Herbst (Blue Bulls). 3. Luan de Bruin (Free State Cheetahs). 2. Jacques du Toit (Free State Cheetahs). 1. Andrew Beerwinkel

(Blue Bulls)

Reserves: 16. Michael Willemse (Western Province). 17. Sti Sithole (Western Province). 18. Aidon Davis (EP Kings).

19. Kwagga Smith (Golden Lions). 20. Percy Williams (Golden Lions). 21. Justin Geduld (SARU contracted). 22. Jesse Kriel (Blue Bulls). 23. Marné Coetzee (The Sharks)

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions. publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24


6 myths about male cancer

It is important to be aware of the most prevalent cancer diseases amongst men in our country.


You won't want to miss...

Who are the highest paid models of 2017?
10 gorgeous plus-sized models who aren't Ashley Graham
5 top leg exercises for men
10 best dressed men of 2017
Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.