Freezing Welkom for Sharks’ friendly warm-up

2008-06-12 00:00

THE Sharks swap relatively balmy Durban for the freezing weather of Welkom to start the second half of their 2008 season against the Northern Free State Griffons tonight.

This compulsory friendly is a warm-up, if that be the word, for their Currie Cup season, which starts next Friday when Western Province take on the Sharks at King’s Park.

The Sharks, with greater depth than they had last year when they reached the semi-finals, now have John Plumtree as their official head coach. Grant Bashford, his assistant, will be in charge tonight as Plumtree is still recovering from painful back surgery and is unable to make the long bus trip.

Rory Kockott, Stefan Terblance, Johann Muller and Frederic Michalak are missing, but the Sharks still have plenty of Super 14 experience in their squad with the inclusion of burly and talented lock Steven Sykes on the flank perhaps the most interesting selection.

Plumtree conceded that selection errors were made in the Super 14 semi-final (lost to the Waraths) “but that’s all in the past now”.

“With me coming in, things will change. Naturally I would like to improve on what Dick [Muir] put in place,” he told the Sharks website.

The Griffons have beefed up their squad with former Bok Friedrich Lombard on the wing and nine former Free State Vodacom Cup players, who have moved from Bloemfontein, along with sevens Springboks Jonathan Mokuena and fullback Fabien Juries included tonight.


Sharks: Chris Jordaan, Danie Dames, Waylon Murray, Andries Strauss, Henno Mentz, Bradley Barritt (capt), Scott Mathie, Jean Deysel, Steven Sykes, Jacques Botes, Albert van den Berg, Alistair Hargreaves, Jannie du Plessis, Craig Burden, Deon Carstens.

Replacements: Skipper Badenhorst, Melusi ‘Burra’ Mtetwa, Schalk van Jaarsveld, Skholiwe Ndlovu, Jacques Potgieter, Charl McLeod, Andrew Borgen, Rian Swanepoel, Luzuko Vulindlu, Lwazi Mvovo, Dumisani Matyeshana.

Griffons: Fabien Juries, Shane Hancke, Philip Snyman, Berndt Theissinger, Friedrich Lombard; Johann van Niekerk, Danny Theron, Jonathan Mokuena, Ockie van Zyl, Albert Parsons, Isak van der Westhuizen, Windpomp van Rooyen, Jaco Louw, Hercu Liebenberg, Sarel Louw (capt).

Replacements: Romano Sibiya, Gert Greyling, Tros Botha, Sandile India, Niekie Steyn, Shaun Botha, Bolla Abrahams, Werner Griesel, Juan de Witt.

Kick-off: 7 pm.

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions. publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.