Glenwood, College dominate trial teams

2011-05-23 00:00

A FURTHER trial will take place at Woodburn tomorrow to finalise the U18 and U16 teams to represent KZN during the mid-year vacation.

The U18 selectors have a difficult task, as they have to select three teams starting with a Craven Week side of 22 players and then a further 44 players to represent the Academy A and B teams.

Quotas also have to be complied with, so there is a list of 106 players who have been invited for tomorrow’s trials. There are 58 forwards and 48 backline players in the list.

Glenwood and Maritzburg College dominate with 21 and 17 players respectively.

Kearsney and Westville both have 10 players who have been called up. They will have a physical assessment before being involved in three trial games.

At the U16 level, four teams have been drawn up to play two matches before a “possible and probables” game. Glenwood again have the most players with 18, followed by Westville with 12 and College with 11.

Twenty-two players will be named by the selectors to go to the Grant Khomo Week. The U18 and U16 matches begin at 1 pm at the Stadium and Woodburn II respectively.


Forwards: A Becker (Michaelhouse), D Boshoff (Pionier), J Botes (Pio), S Brown (St Charles), J Buthelezi (Westville), M Buthelezi (Empangeni), N Colepeper (Kearsney), C Collopy (Ksn), C de Beer (Hilton), M Dickens (Maritzburg College), R de Wet (Pio), D du Plessis (StC), D du Preez (Ksn), J du Preez (Ksn), D Ahern (Ksn), M Gouws (Glenwood), C Guila (Clifton), M Hayes (DHS), L Hazelhurst (George Campbell), W Holder (StC), F Horn (Gwd), M Jones (Ksn), M Joubert (MC), M Kennedy (Ksn), M Khumalo (MC), K Khuzwayo (Wvl), J Klingenberg (Vryheid), B Landsberg (MC), C Lousberg (DHS), S Mabaso (Weston), M Matthia (Pinetown), J Meintjies (Gwd), R Mhlongo (MC), M Mkhize (GC), L Mlambo (Howick), C Mnguni (Sarel Cilliers), J Moberley (Michaelhouse), J Mollentze (Pio), T Mongalo (Htn), V Mthembu (Gwd), C Myburgh ( Ksn), N Mxoli (Wvl), S Nanto (GC), T Ngcongo (Wvl), S Ngxabi (Gwd), R Odendaal (MC), N Oelofse (Gwd), S Pina (Gwd), B Potgieter (Gwd), P Shezi (MC), S Sithole (Wvl), R Smith (MC), C Swart (Gwd), J Taylor (Gwd), R van der Westhuizen (GC), W Watt (Creston), P Woodroffe (Wvl), M Worrel-Clare (Gwd),

Backs: T Albertse (Mhs), B Asher-Wood (Grantleigh), R Bartlett (Htn), A Bester (Pio), K Boulle (Wvl), S Kubeka (Ksn), T Fisher (Wvl),D Britz (Gelofte), R Brummer (Pio), W Budu (SC), B Cope (DHS), D Coulson (Gwd), R du Preez (Ksn), X Falakhe (DHS), C Geldenhuys (Gwd), B Hadebe (Ptn), J Hugo (Htn), Z Khumalo (StC), D Kriel (MC), J Kriel (MC), A Lockington (Mhs), U Makasi (Gwd), M Makhabela (Gwd), Z Makiwane (MC), E Marais (MC), D Marcus (Wvl), N Maswana (Gwd), L Mdlalose (GC),S Mdlalose (GC), M Mnqadi (Sarel Cilliers), T Molelekoa (MC), D Moolman (Gwd), M Mvelase (Mhs), X Ngeleka (Gwd), L Nthlangulela (Gwd), M Payi (DHS), M Phillips (MC), C Olley (MC), V Potgieter (StC), A Rosslee (Port Natal), S Shezi (Gwd), L Shushi (Port Shepstone), L Sithole (MC), C Smith (Htn), S Tom (Gwd), S Ungerer (MC), B Willem (Pio), C Wright (Wvl)



Rowe XV: S Zondi (Glenwood), A Mthembu (Gwd), K Majola (Westville), R Jardine (Wvl), C Schoeman (Michaelhouse), A Fourie (Richardsbaai), N Ncanana (Port Shepstone), R Driver (Kearsney), L Booysen (Maritzburg College), J Pretorius (Rb), N Ngwenya (MC), B Ellse (Wvl), M Dickeson (Hilton), A Garcoa (Htn), L Snyman (Wvl)

Norris XV: B Kennedy (Wvl), N Ntanzi (Gwd), C Hollenstein (Mhs), S Kruger (Port Natal), C Whitting (Mhs), C Ngobese (DHS), R Baldwin (Htn), N Maseko (Htn), K Gerard (Gwd), F Memela (MC), J Richmond (Htn), N Ngubane (DHS), N Mabaso (Dundee), C Geach (MC), D Stopforth (Gwd)

Bell XV: T Zondi (Gwd), V Khatide (MC), R Zondi (MC), S Buthelezi (MC), N Mazibuko (Gwd), A del la Rey (Wvl), L Otieno (Wvl), S van der Heever (Gwd), M Reece-Edwards (Ksn), D Dawson (Gelofte), D Pieters (Wvl), K Ntshangase (Gwd), S Ngcobo (Gwd), B Arnott (Mhs), N Dlamini (Ksn)

Snyman XV: N Gumede (MC), A Pellicia (Ksn), T Mgwaba (Gwd), R Wiesner (MC), R Kay (Gwd), C Taylor (Htn), T Bratos (Gwd), J Conradie (MC), R McHardy (Wvl),

L van Zyl (DHS), B Cremer (Ksn), M Pieterse (PN), A Ndlovu (Wvl), J Khumalo (Gwd), K Paverd (Wvl)

Reserves: P Lee (Htn), Z Weir (Wvl), W Hippolite (Gwd), C Channing (MC), G Francis (Ksn), N Mcume (Gwd), S Mavikela (Gwd), M Coetzee (MC), M Shawe (Voortrekker)

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions. publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.