Hammond and Kime win top accolades

2008-10-09 00:00

THE Sportswoman and Sportsman of the Year of the Pietermaritzburg campus of the University of KwaZulu-Natal were named at the Johnson & Johnson UKZN Sports Banquet held at Victoria Country Club last night.

The Nux Trophy for Sportsman of the Year went for the second year running to hockey player Tommy Hammond. Canoeist Robyn Kime received the Professor ND Clarence Trophy for Sportswoman of the Year.

Hammond has played for the national squad for the past three years and represented South Africa at the Olympics in Beijing. He is the SA Men’s Hockey Player of the Year and was also recognised as a role model for aspiring young players. He will pursue his hockey career in Belgium and return to the University in 2009.

The other finalist was rugby player Kobie du Rand.

Kime’s dedication to canoeing has led to her being recognised as one of South Africa’s top paddlers and as an example to sportswomen on and off the water. Among four major achievements this year, Kime placed second in the Dusi Marathon.

The other finalist was hockey and basketball player Kara Stella.

The Half Blues awards went to Robyn Kime (canoe), Gerald Penford (cricket), Harry Beachcroft-Shaw(hockey), Jethro Eustice (hockey), Sian Eustice (hockey), Kara-Lee Stella (hockey), Sade Simons (hockey), Gareth Hunter (rugby), Jakobus du Rand (rugby).

Full Blues went to Sarah Hook (canoe), Elizabeth Chiazzari (canoe), Nicholas Stubbs (canoe), Matthew Coombes (hockey), Nduduzo Khanyile (hockey), Dalan Phillips (hockey), Thabani Sithole (soccer).

Special award winners were: Campus League, Soccer; Mark Andrews Trophy for Most Improved Sportsperson, Sharan Munsamy (cricket); Professor P de V Booysen Trophy for Performance of the Year, Hockey Men’s First Team for winning Men’s Super League; Professor J D Scott Trophy for Best All-rounder, Brett Campbell (cricket, golf and hockey); Ken Bircher Trophy for Club Administrator of the Year, Nicole Stone (hockey/tennis); Dave Turner Trophy for Leadership, Nomalanga Hlophe (basketball); Trish Mohr Trophy for Team of the Year, Hockey Men’s First Team; Professor OPF Horwood Trophy for Service to Sport, Thokozani Kubheka; Dave Edmondson Trophy for Most Improved Club of the Year, Basketball; Roger D Crawford Trophy for the Club of the Year, Hockey.

Join the conversation!

24.com encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions.

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire 24.com network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.