Hilton’s young golfers dominate KZN schools’ championships

2011-08-09 00:00

ON August 4 and 5 the KwaZulu-Natal Schools’ Golf Championships took place at Victoria Country Club (VCC). Two earlier competitions had taken place at the Cotswolds Downs course, with the first won by Westville and the second by Glenwood.

Hilton College won the Schools’ Trophy at the VCC by 11 shots, a remarkable victory considering they have a young team with only two boys in matric. Their B side placed sixth, showing Hilton’s strength in golf at present. That they have six players in the A and B KZN golf teams, together with the only two reserves, shows they are undoubtedly the leading golf school in the province.

The final results of the top 10 teams were: 1. Hilton A, 2. Kearsney, 3. Westville, 4. Maritzburg College, 5. Michaelhouse, 6. Hilton B,

7. Clifton, 8. DHS, 9. Glenwood, 10. St Charles.

Following the matches, the KZN Schools’ golf teams taking part in the interprovincial schools’ tournament were announced. Two Hilton College boys, Mike Ryan and Jarryd Edy, were selected for the KZN Schools’ A team, with Matt Lauryssen and Chris Saunders being selected for the KZN B team. A further two members of the Hilton team, Keagan Thomas and Keaton Bottreill, are the two non-travelling reserves.

The next best representation was from Maritzburg College, with Sheldon Stroebel in the A team and Robert Quarmby and Neil Swanepoel in the B team. Kearsney also has two boys, Cameron Byrne and Greg Royston, in the A side but none in the B team.

KZN A: James Moody [Westville], Sheldon Stroebel [Maritzburg College], Andrew Plint [Glenwood], Cameron Byrne, Greg Royston [both Kearsney], Jarryd Edy, Michael Ryan [both Hilton], Andrew Pearson [Embury], Courtney Morris [Thomas More], Sherry King [St Anne’s]

KZN B: Matt Lauryssen, Chris Saunders [both Hilton], Robert Quarmby, Neil Swanepoel [both M College], Patrick Critchley, Jacque Swarts [both Michaelhouse], Matthew Main [Thomas More], Ruben Coetzer [DHS], Courtney James [Crawford LL], Demi Schoeman [St Mary’s]

Non-travelling reserves: Keaton Bouttriell, Keagan Thomas (Hilton).

Join the conversation!

24.com encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions.

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts

Jobs in Cape Town [change area]

Jobs in Western Cape region

Graphic Designer

Cape Town Northern Suburbs
Creative Sourcing
R7 000 - R9 000 Per Month

Junior Chef

Century City
Pro Placements Recruitment Agency
R8 000 - R9 000 Per Month

CSR Inbound

Cape Town Northern Suburbs
O'Brien Recruitment
R14 000 - R16 000 Per Month

Property [change area]

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire 24.com network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.