Hockey: Five KZN players in SA U18

2013-07-09 00:00

THE national U18 hockey tournament ended in Cape Town on Saturday with the announcement of the SA U18 squad.

After five days of hockey, the provincial A and B sections were won by Western Province A and Northerns B respectively.

Five KZN players are in the U18 A squad of 18 players and a further seven on the B team.

Both Maritzburg College and Kearsney have two players in the A squad.

Northwood, who have been the top KZN team, have one player in the A squad and another three players in the B.

The three top provinces were Western Province, KZN Coastals (who lost in the final) and Amathole.

Wynberg, Bishops and Rondebosch are the three schools from the winning province that have most players selected.

KZN Coastals have one more player in total selected than WP but not as many in the A squad.

Northwood, Kearsney and Westville have the majority of Coastal players in the selections.

KZN Inland placed fifth after beating Boland 1-0 on the final day. Coastals B drew 2-2 with SWD in the A section, but have been demoted to the B section for 2014.

Northerns B will be promoted to the A section.

Inland B beat EP B 3-1 to take 3rd place in the B section.

SA U18A: Charles Bowren (Eastern P-St Andrew’s), Jamie Christians (Western P-Fairmont), Ryan Crowe (WP-Wynberg), Matthew de Sousa (KZN Coastals-Northwood), Tyson Dlungwana (KZN Inland-Maritzburg College), Quinton Dreyer (WP-Wynberg), Zubay Hamza (WP-Rondebosch), Chris Hawkridge (Boland-Paarl Valei), Ryan Julius (WP-Bishops), Keegan Kieck (S Gauteng –St Stithian’s), Kyle Lion-Cachet (SG-St John’s), Robert McKinley (WP-Wynberg), Khumo Mokale (N Gauteng-Pretoria BHS), Saresh Naidoo (Ama­thole-Selborne), Siya Nolotshungu

(KZNI-M College), Nqobile Ntuli (KZNC-Kearsney), Alex Stewart (WP-Bishops), Ryan Wallace (KZNC-Kearsney)

SA U18B: Curt Abrahams (Bol-Paarl Gym), Jacques Bleeker (KZNC-Westville), Wade Cresswell (SG-St Stithian’s), Callan Hansen (Ama-Dale), Pambili Gada (Ama-Dale), Qhayiya Jack (Ama-Hudson Park), Taylor Kelly-Stack (KZNC-DHS), Javed Mea (KZNC-Westville), Stephen McManus (KZNC-Northwood), Dayne Naidoo (KZNC B-Glenwood), Tylo Remke (KZNC-Northwood), Siya Sityana (Ama-Dale), Kay Skovgaard-Peterson (WP-Rondebosch), Bjorn Sorenson (WP-Rondebosch), Dale van der Merwe (KZNC-Northwood), Cody van Wyk (Ama-Dale), Yamkela Valem (Ama-Dale), Tim Welsh (WP-Wynberg)

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions. publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.