Hockey and water polo champs

2011-11-22 00:00

THE Pietermaritzburg Girls’ High School (GHS) first-team indoor hockey and water polo teams have enjoyed unbeaten runs — winning every single­ match — in the short, fourth-team season.

Due to the importance of the end-of-year examinations for every school, the organisers of these leagues, local teachers and sports coaches, are forced to cram a host of matches into a very short space of time.

And despite the intensity of the season­, both Pietermaritzburg Girls’ High School sides kept their concentration and composure to take the honours in every outing.

The GHS first indoor hockey girls played a total of six matches against St John’s, Howick, The Wykeham Collegiate­, Epworth, St Anne’s and Treverton.

“All the games were played at a frantic pace with each side trying desperately to outplay the other,” said GHS first-team indoor hockey coach Taryn de Winnaar.

“The Girls’ High side must be commended­ on an excellent team spirit as well as a sound and determined structural performance, which allowed their clinical strikers to convert.”

Known as the “green machine” by their schoolmates and supporters, the GHS first team scored a total of 33 goals and conceded only five. National­ age-group outdoor hockey player Sine Zungu was outstanding all season, ending on an 11-goal contribution or 33% of her team’s total number of goals.

There is no KwaZulu-Natal Inland Schools’ indoor hockey team selected in this fourth term, but had there been one, GHS would no doubt have provided a fair number of the province’s players.

Meanwhile, the GHS first water polo­ girls played a total of five games, against Epworth, Treverton, The Wykeham Collegiate, St John’s and St Anne’s.

Once again, it was an intense season­ during which the girls worked exceptionally hard under successful new coach Jolene Joubert and maintained­ a high standard of water polo.

A total of 50 goals were scored and 11 were conceded, while a number of GHS players were selected for the KwaZulu-Natal Midlands teams.

Carmelle Smith and Jade Swanepoel­ were selected for the overall KwaZulu-Natal U16A team and Zoe Holder was chosen as a non-travelling reserve for the KwaZulu-Natal U14A team.

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions. publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.