IPT selection: bulk of players from College

2011-05-27 00:00

THE hockey selectors in the KZN Inland and Coastal regions have been busy over the past few weeks, each selecting six teams to represent their regions at various inter-provincial tournaments due to take place during the mid-year vacation.

The Inland U18A team has players from just the four large boys’ schools, with the bulk from Maritzburg College. The Coastal side has three players each from Glenwood, Kearsney and Northwood. There are also three players that finished their schooling last year, but are still under 18.

There are seven players in the Coastal line-up that helped lift the trophy at last year’s IPT and they will be favourites to repeat it again this year. Inland has four players that were in the 2010 team which disappointed last year. The U18 IPT will be taking place on the Kearsney and Westville pitches.

In the U16A team there is a similar pattern with eight Inland players from College and the Coastal players spread more evenly amongst the schools. College has 10 players in the U14A Inland team and Kearsney, with five, has the most in the Coastal team.


Inland: L Mafilika (Maritzburg College), K Harries (MC), C Clowes (Michaelhouse), N Bechet (MC), S Donaldson (Mhs), C van der Berg (MC), N Berichon (MC), T Guise-Brown (MC), Z Mhlongo (Mhs), G Drake (Hilton College), G Glutz (MC), U Fischer (St Charles), N Wanliss (MC), S Khumalo (StC), R Ashworth (Mhs), A Abbema (HC)

Coastal: R Curtis (DHS), R Lees (Umlazi Dist), D Keuter (Pinetown Dist), T Cele (Northwood), S Sunkari (Umlazi D), S Ngubane (Glenwood), B Hartslief (Westville), R Hetem (Gwd), D Bayne (Nwd), D Koenig (Kearsney College), R Schmitz (KC), B Beghin (Thomas More), E van Heerden (Wvl), B Dlomo (KC), C Koekemoer (Gwd), T Ngubane (Nwd)


Inland: A Lawrie (StC), O Bhengu (MC), A Greig (HC), T Gubba (MC), D Dupavillon (MC), K Chaplain (HC), D Watson (Mhs), H Griffiths (MC), M Murray (MC), L Balfour (HC), O Allen (HC), J Turnbull (MC), P Smerdon (MC), L Mercer (HC), S Wadeson (Mhs)

Coastal: D Freeman (Wvl), M Shadwell (KC), K Simmonds (Wvl), D Home (Nwd), Z Beat (KC), S Reddy (Wvl), D Sibbald (Gwd), S Balraj (Uml Dist), G Roberts (Gwd), C Kirsten (KC), Y Mthembu (DHS), D Kupferman (Wvl), S Tally (Clifton), G McGregore (Gwd), X Lupuwana (Empangeni Dist), M Wilson (TM)


Inland: S Nolutshungu (MC), A Darroch (StC), C Caley (HC), B Kunene (MC), G Tatham (Mhs), F Botes (MC), J Wikstrom (MC), T Halle (MC), P Indrajith (StC), M Holding (HC), A Lethuka (HC), T Kok (MC), B Mingay (StC), M Salgado (HC), C Nortje (MC)

Coastal: J Oakes (Wvl), T Kelly-Stack (DHS), N Finn (Wvl), J Mea (Wvl), J Reed (Gwd), K Meier-Mattera (Cft), M de Souza (Nwd), D Naidoo (Gwd), D van der Merwe (Nwd), S McManus (DHS), A Phehlukwayo (Gwd), S Bairaj (Crawford LL), K Kerstadt (Cft), K Mobey (Cft), B Watkins (Wvl), M Labuschagne (Gl)


Inland: A Coyne (Mhs), C Brown (MC), E de Rouville (StC), P Zanone (MC), H Strydom (Mhs), C Chaplin (Mhs), S Govender (StC), D Pretorius (Mhs), L Stevens (Mhs), M Knoble (StC), N Lembethe (MC), L Shongwe (Amajuba), S Govender (MC), M McDonald (Mhs), T Daff (StC), J Abbema (HC)

Coastal: B Gale (Cft), J Bleeker (Wvl), W Hippolite (Gwd), N Ntshingila (DHS), I Druce (Cft), J Furniss (Cft), T Bottomly (Gwd), H Roberts (Gwd), D Griffiths (KC), T Remke (Nwd), Y Govender (Nwd), R Westermeyer (Nwd), M Ireland (Wvl), J Dellis (Gwd), B Ntuli (KC), A Abraham (Gwd)


Inland: (no initials given) Kirkman (StC), Dlungwana (MC), Holloway (MC), Halle (MC), Barker (MC), Yeats (HC), Ntshangase (MC), Tullis (MC), Herselman (MC), Schreuder (HC), Lefefa (MC), Sibisi (MC), Gerrard (MC), Macaskill (Mhs), Krog (HC), Miller (Mhs)

Coastal: T Smith (Wvl), R Baker (KC), R Bradfield (Wvl), J Wagner (Gwd), K Hezlett (Gwd), K Premchund (DHS), A de Marco (KC), S de Beer (Wvl), T Smith (Nwd), M Butler (KC), T Rossier (Cft), G Stevens (KC), I Mukendi (Gwd), I Manual (Nwd), O Cele (Gwd), J Crouch (KC)


Inland: (no initials given) Vezasie (MC), Rowe-Needham (MC), Flanagan (Mhs), Armstrong (Mhs), Thratschler (Mhs), Barnard (StC), Wadeson (Mhs), Small (MC), Blore (Mhs), Conlon (Mhs), Fyvie (Mhs), Venn (Sisonke), Gqiba (HC), Saulez (HC), Griffith (MC), Dlamini (MC)

Coastal: G Goldman (Clifton), M Kirkham (Gwd), J King (TM), C Birnie (Cft), L Hewitson (KC), K Goedeke (Cft), K Buys (Wvl), J Ross-Elliott (KC), C Wallace (Nwd), J Jessop (Cft), J Broomhead (Wvl), G Davies (TM), T Naidoo (Grantleigh), K Kunene (New Forest), A Ngidi (DHS), T Nohlizi (Emp Dist)

Join the conversation!

24.com encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions.

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire 24.com network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.