Inland hockey teams selected

2013-05-21 00:00

THE KZN Inland hockey selectors have named “A” and  “B” teams in each of the three age groups to participate in interprovincial tournaments during the mid-year vacation.

Maritzburg College dominate the “A” team selections with nine in both the U18 and U16 teams and 10 in the U14 team.

The rest come from either Hilton, Michaelhouse or St Charles, with only one player in the U14 “A” coming from Carter.

The U18 tournament is centered at Rondebosch in Cape Town from July 1-6. The U16s travel to Johannesburg to play on the same dates, where the tournament takes place at St Johns. The U14s are closer to home at Kearsney from June 22-26.

U18 A: S Nolutshungu (Maritzburg College), L Dlungwana (MC), A Darroch (St Charles), C Brown (MC), H Strydom (Michaelhouse), B Kunene (MC), J Wikström (MC), T Halle (MC), D Cole (Hilton), M Holding (Htn), A Letuka (MC), T Kok (MC), M Salgado (Htn), N Lembethe (MC), J Edy (Htn)

Coach - B Swart, Manager - TBD

U18 B: K Sinclair (Htn), D Beckley (Mhs), D Caley (Htn), G Tatham (Mhs), O Letuka (MC), B van der Merwe (MC), D Pretorius (Mhs), M Knoble (StC), T Mzila (Wembley), B Mingay (StC), S Ngwane (Carter), H Dladla (MC), S Campbell-Gillies (Htn), W van Staaden (Umzinyathi), L Stevens (Mhs)

Coach - R Snowden, Manager - TBD

U16 A: J Miller (Mhs), T Kirkman (StC), C Halle (MC), A Ndlovu (MC), J Yeats (Htn), M Currie (StC), S Wadeson (Mhs), B Tullis (MC), M Forrest (MC), M Llobell (Htn), G Herselman (MC), N Sibisi (MC), G Macaskill (Mhs), D Small (MC), R Schreuder (Htn), N Lefefa (MC), L Campbell (MC)

Coach - G Elliott, Manager - TBD

U16 B: S Magosa (MC), W Vezasie (MC), E Bosch (Htn), D Falconer (Htn), J Kriel (MC), J Redfern (Mhs), L Barnard (StC), N Church (StC), R Spriesterbach (Htn), M Watson (Mhs), C Krog (Htn), D Gerrard (MC), B Njapha (MC), W Radebe (Umz), O Santoro (MC) Coach - M Reed, Manager - K du Toit

(After training sessions one player will be removed from the U16 ‘A’ team to play in the ‘B’ team)

U14 A: A de Vroede (StC), N Foster (Mhs), S Steenkamp (MC), J Clark (MC), B Hope (MC), B Spence (MC), M Meaner (Mhs), B Sherwood (MC), N Pio (MC), J Coombes (MC), J Smart (Mhs), N Mjoli (Ctr), L Hlongwa (MC), J van der Merwe (MC), A Glutz (MC), J Song (Mhs)

Coach - R Robertson, Manager - K Bartholomew

U14 B: H le Roux (MC), M Grobelaar (Htn), L Mallon (MC), L Thomson (Mhs), D Wheels (Htn), L Mshengu (Sisonke), S Majola (StC), N Rahim (StC), M Lutz (StC), J Beart (Htn), M Gerrish (Mhs), J Herselman (MC), M Armstrong (Mhs), M Zungu (Mhs), R Attwood (Htn), S Maartens (Mhs)

Coach - C Oldnall, Manager - G Rall.

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions. publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.