KZN Inland indoor hockey champions of SA again

2011-03-08 00:00

KZN Inland were once again crowned champions of South Africa at the conclusion of the SA Men’s Inter-provincial Indoor Hockey Tournament at the University of KZN’s Durban campus over the weekend.

Captain Darryn Gallagher’s side, coached by Charlie Pereira, enjoyed an unblemished record of five wins from five matches and beat Western Province 6-2 in Saturday night’s final. In all, Inland scored 32 goals and conceded 12.

Inland’s tournament success was built around a superb team effort, but special mention must go to Jethro Eustice and goalkeeper Rohn Barron for outstanding performances in the title match.

WP trailed Inland 2-1 at half-time and with four minutes left were 4-1 behind. They managed to pull one back, but two quick-fire goals in the last couple of minutes by the men from the KZN capital crushed any hopes the Capetonians might have had of rescuing the game.

Ace finisher Gavin Jelley grabbed a brace, 2008 Olympian Geoff Abbott did the same and the other goals came from Eustice and Karl Oftebro.

Chris James and Brad Venter scored for WP.

Inland’s closest call came in a semi-final played at blistering pace, Kaspersky Southern Gauteng repeating the challenge they gave Inland in last year’s title showdown.

The Pietermaritzburg lads triumphed 3-2 over Southerns with one from Eustice and a brace inside 60 seconds by Devon van der Merwe.

KZN Coastal Raiders beat Southerns 8-3 for third place. KZN Mynahs came fifth.

The Player of the Tournament award went to experienced Inland skipper Gallagher, the 2008 Olympian barely putting a foot wrong.

In the women’s competition there was heartache for KZN Inland, who fell one goal short of pipping Southerns for a semi-final berth. Consolation of sorts came with Carla Botha being joint winner of the Top Goal-scorer award alongside Kara Stella of KZN Coastal, while Inland keeper Tarryn de Winaar won the Save of the Tournament accolade.

Coach Lennie Botha and captain Brenda Bartlett’s KZN Coastal Raiders deservedly won the women’s title in beating the impressive, fiercely determined KZN Mynahs line-up 4-1. North West beat Southerns 3-2 for third spot. Inland A finished fifth with their B side, who won the Fair Play award, ending eighth.


Other tournament award winners:

Men: Top goal-scorers: Michael Botha and Greg Last (KZN Coastal); Most Promising Player: Jarred Jones (Coastal); Best Save: Kia Petty (KZN Mynahs); Best Goal: Teigan Mulholland (Coastal); Fair Play: WP.

Women: Player of Tournament: Celia Evans (North West); Best Goal: Kerry Gaze (Mynahs); Most Promising Player: Jade Mayne (WP).

Title winners KZN Inland: Rohn Barron, Jethro Eustice, Justin Domleo, Ayden Shrives, Devon van der Merwe, Darryn Gallagher (capt), Tommy Hammond, Karl Oftebro, Gavin Jelley, Robin Jones, Ian Griffiths. Coach: Charlie Pereira. Manager: Harry Suckert.

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions. publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.