KZN athletes among leading runners in this year’s Comrades Marathon

2011-06-01 00:00

KWAZULU-NATAL-BASED athletes were among the leading athletes in the Cathsetta-sponsored Comrades Marathon prize giving held in the aftermath of the 86th race on Monday morning, although Zimbabwean Stephen Muzhingi, who is based with Durban’s Bluff Meats Forumula One Club, walked away from the awards ceremony with R250 000, the gold medal, and the winners trophy.

In addition, after only seven outings on the infamous ultra, he was presented with his green number in perpetuity for three wins, becoming only the eighth runner to achieve this honour­. Mncedisi Mkhize from the Mr Price Running Club won 10th position and earned the KZN Premier’s award with R15 000 for being the first KZN athlete to finish. He finished behind ninth-placed Brian Zondi, who ironically had earned the same award when he finished second in 2006, but he has now relocated to Soweto where he runs for the Toyota Club.

Kerry Koen was the first of the province’s women, which she added to her ninth-place gold medal and provided the foundation for Nedbank to place second in the team awards in 32 hours, 41 minutes, 49 seconds. Koen, along with Fikile Mbuthuma, Hleziphi Ncayiyana and Pelsealina Lepheana, were just under three hours behind the Bonita’s Central Gauteng quartet who were led home by fifth-placed and first South African, Farwa Mentoor.

Shaun Meiklejohn, the 1995 winner, returned to the podium as part of Nedbank KZN’s over-40 team that placed second behind the club’s Eastern Cape quartet. Meiklejohn, who finished 88th overall, took 6:39,13 for the course and along with Petros Sosibo, Sibusiso Ntuli and Michael Malunga, were 38 minutes ahead of third- place Toyota Central Gauteng.

Two local runners made it into the age-group awards. Richard Dlamini of the Nedbank was third in the 40- to 49 category in 6:08,49, while Boxer Club’s Eloi de Oliveira added another medal to his tally, finishing second behind multiple winner Vladimir Kotov in 6:39,25.


KwaZulu-Natal Athletics has sent out a notice of a council meeting to be held on June 25 in the board room in Durban’s Athletic Stadium at 9 am. This comes in response to recent calls by clubs for a meeting where clarification can be gained on the R940 000 deficit announced at the annual general meeting. At the time it was said that an application had been made to cover this amount from Lottery money that was initially allocated to the development of tracks. Newspaper reports quoted Lottery personnel as saying that no such application had been received.

Other questions have also been put to the executive regarding the corporate governance of the provincial body, including why it has not met the constitutional requirement of holding two council meetings each year.

Caster Semenya ran her fastest time this season in the 800 metres at the IAAF league in Dakar this weekend­ taking the tape in 2:00,61, beating Yuseysi Caballero by 0,45 seconds. This takes the 20-year-old closer to the defence of her 2009 world championship title in Daegu, South Korea, in August. As current champion, Semenya­ does not need to qualify, but has gradually edged to the two-minute barrier as the season has progressed.

Hannes Dreyer (20,86) and Simon Magakwe (20,88) were relegated to fifth and sixth in the 200 metres, which was won by American Shawn Crawford in 20,58 seconds.

While the South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee president, Gideon Sam, announced that they are keen to host IAAF Diamond League meetings, it seems there is little support from Athletics South Africa­.


Age 40 to 49


1 Elias Mubane Bidvest GN 6:00,50

2 Butki Jantjies Mr Price EC 6:05,55

3 Richard Dlamini – Nedbank KZN 6:08,49


1 Kami Semick Nedbank international - 6:46,29

2 Lucy Hardiman Australia 7:28,01

3 Lelanie van Zyl Nedbank GN – 7:43,09

Age 50-59


1 Vladimir Kotov Century City 6:24,24 53rd

2 Eloi de Oliveira Boxer 6:39,25

3 Stuart Mc Coll Turn2God 6:46,34


1 Sue Harrisberg RAC 8:06,29

2 Valerie Watson – NB CG 8:36,02

3 Juliette Savini Durbanville 8:36,25

Age 60 to 69


1 Bernd Juckel Germany 7:23,10

2 Keith Mckay Australia 8:08,59

3 Freddy Kashiri Harare AC 8:15,56


1 Elaine Greenblatt Rocky Road Runners 9:33,02

2 Penny Visser Breakthrough 9:42,38

3 Veronica van Niekerk

Hot spots

Bonita’s Cowies Hill R8000

Samuel Pazanga Bluff Meats Formula One

Olesya Nurgalieva Mr price International

Road Accident Fund Drummond R12000

Point Chaza Bluff Meats Formula One

Elena Nurgalieva Mr Price International

Bonitas Camperdown R16000

Fanie Matshipa Samancor EP

Olesya Nurgalieva Mr Price International

First KZN

Man: Mncedisi Mkhize Mr Price

Woman: Kerry Koen Nedbank KZN

First South African

Man: Fanie Matshipa Samancor EP

Woman: Farwa Mentoor Bonitas CG

Team — men

1 Toyota Centre Gauteng - Brian Zondi Gift Kelehe, Harmans Mokgadi, Frans Chauke. 23:49,21

2 Mr Price KZN - Eric Ngubane, Mncedisi Mkhize, , Bongmusa Mthembu, Clement Nkosi 24:08,29

3 Bonita’s CG – Simon Peu, Mkhozeni Basi, Aaron Gabonewe, Jabulani Nhlapo 24:19,04

Teams — women

1 Bonitas CG Farwa Mentoor Joyce Makwarela, Nocwane Morake, Pauline Njeya 29:44,14

2 Nedbank KZN - Kerry Koen, Fikile Mbuthuma, Hleziphi Ncayiyana, Pelsealina Lepheana 32:41,49

3 Irene – Anelle Voster, Christelle van der Merwe, Nadine Breytenbach, Joy-ann Nicholl 33:36,51

Top 10 men finishers

1 Stephen Muzinghi (Formula 1 Bluff Meats/Zimbabwe) 5:32,45

2 Fanie Matshipa (Samancor/EP) 5:34,29

3 Claude Moshiywa (Nedbank/GN) 5:42,05

4 Jonas Buud (Nedbank/Sweden) 5:42,44

5 Gift Kelehe (Toyota/CG) 5:43,59

6 Chasara Masiyatsva (Nedbank/GN/Zimbabwe) 5:44,33

7 Ludwick Mamabolo (Mr Price/CG) 5:50,17

8 Charles Tjiane (Mr Price/CG) 5:50,46

9 Brian Zondi (Toyota/CG formerly KZN) 5:51,08

10 Mncedisi Mkhize (Mr Price/ KZN) 5:51,17

Top 10 women finishers

1 Elena Nurgalieva (Mr Price/Russia) 6:24,11

2 Olesya Nurgalieva (Mr Price/Russia) 6:24,35

3 Kami Semick (Nedbank/U.S.) 6:26,24

4 Ellie Greenwood (Nedbank/UK) 6:32,46

5 Farwa Mentoor (Bonitas/CG) 6:35,49

6 Irina Vishnevskaya (Nedbank/ Russia) 6:42,08

7 Lizzy Hawker (Nedbank/U.S.) 6:48,28

8 Adinda Kruger (Nedbank/GN) 6:49,01

9 Kerry Koen (Nedbank/CG) 6:56,20

10 Riana van Niekerk (Mr Price/CG) 6:56,38

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions. publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.