KZN schools’ teams announced for SA Inter-provincial tournament

2012-03-20 00:00

A TOTAL of 128 tennis players took part in the KZN Inter-regional Tennis Tournament in Pietermaritzburg, representing teams that travelled from northern KZN, the north, and the South Coast and Midlands.

The tennis was of a good standard and matches were competitive.

At the prizegiving Dave Purdon, acting chairperson of KZN Schools’ Tennis, congratulated each member of the district teams for giving their best over the weekend.

Special thanks went to outgoing chairperson Sean Topper for the dedicated service that he has put into KZN high schools’ tennis over the years. Tournament director Jill Meyer was also given a vote of thanks.

The winning teams were announced at the end of the tournament, as well as the players selected to represent KZN at the SA Inter-provincial Tournament in Pretoria from March 31 to April 3.

KZN Inter-Regional winners - U17 Girls: Midlands Red - Nicola Deenik (The Wykeham Collegiate), Tess Miles (Treverton), Christie Bradford (St Anne’s), Cailene Jamloodeen (PMB Girls’ High School). U15 Girls: Midlands Red - Zandi Powell (GHS), Tessa van der Merwe (St Anne’s), Jemma Veenstra (TWC), Catherine Pringle (Epworth).

U17 Boys: eThekwini Green - Keegan Foss (Kearsney), Paseka Motsamai (Westville), Jadon Rossler (Westville), Oliver Thomson (Kearsney). U15 Boys: Midlands Red - Mudiwa Llobell (Hilton College), Sasha Brown (Hilton), Don Paterson (Treverton), Michael Darroch (St Charles).



U17A Girls: 1. Jenna Davidson (Danville), 2. Georgie Willows (St Mary’s), 3. Bianca Birkenstock (Crawford LaLucia), 4. Rachel Barnard (Epworth), 5. Cailene Jamalooden (PMB GHS), 6. Meshka Asmaall (TWC). U17B Girls: 1. Nicola Deenik (TWC), 2. Tess Miles (Treverton), 3. Melissa Glutz (TWC), 4. Jamie Dodd (Danville), 5. Cynthia Kijjambu (TWC), 6. Adela Nsomi (Kingsway). Non travelling reserves: Darshna Naidu (Ethekwini), Christy Bradford (St Anne’s), Ellen King (GHS).

U15A Girls: 1. Cheney Firman (TWC), 2. Phillipa Liasides (Durban Girls’ College), 3. Kirsty Higgs (St Mary’s), 4. Tessa van der Merwe (St Anne’s), 5. Zandi Powell (GHS), 6. Kirsten Moody (TWC).

U15B Girls: 1. Jordie Heathcote (St Mary’s), 2. Sarah Grenfell (GHS), 3. Jemma Veenstra (TWC), 4. Gabriella Latham (Fatima), 5. Nonhlanhla Msomi (Orient), 6. Inessa Raja (DGC). Non-travelling reserves: Safe Kamime (Ethekwini), Amber Greyling (Grantleigh), Sarah Stoner (eThekwini).

U17A Boys: 1. Kenton Parton (Clifton), 2. Musawenkosi Mpondi (Glenwood), 3. Yaseen Ibrahim (Westville), 4. Keegan Foss (Kearsney), 5. Axel Cronje (St Charles), 6) Dale Sandy (Kearsney).

U17B Boys: 1. Paseka Motsamai (Westville), 2. Ramon Fernandez (Crawford La Lucia), 3. Tomas Mosojada (Clifton), 4. Martin Kusel (Hilton College), 5. Andrew Darroch (St Charles), 6. Mikhail Modi (DHS). Non-travelling reserves: Jadon Rossler (Westville), Ben Philpott (St Charles), Preshen Govender (Glenwood), Thuba Mzila (Wembley College).

U15A Boys: 1. Nicolai Manchev (Maritzburg College), 2. Mudiwa Llobell (Hilton), 3. William Thatcher (Clifton), 4. Damon Kesaris (Glenwood), 5. Thembo Makhanya (ECC), 6. Bradley Porteous (Kearsney).

U15B Boys: 1. Matthew Bentley (Kearsney), 2. Ryan Slotow (Clifton), 3. James van den Meulen (Westville), 4. Arnaud Chevron (Glenwood), 5. Mihir Singh (Eden), 6. Mogorosi Badisang (Treverton). Non-travelling reserves: Don Paterson (Treverton), James Strachan (Michaelhouse), Darshan Govender (Crawford La Lucia).

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions. publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.