KZN sends list purged of ‘ABZs’

2012-12-04 00:00

THE ANC in KwaZulu-Natal completely snubbed deputy president Kgalema Motlanthe, leaving him off its list of nominations for the party’s 80-member national executive committee (NEC).

Purged as well from the list are members perceived to be from the “Anyone but Zuma” (ABZ) camp. They include presidential contender and Human Settlements Minister Tokyo Sexwale, party treasurer Matthew Phosa, Sports Minister Fikile Mbalula and Nyami Booi.

Former police commissioner Bheki Cele, who was seen to be part of the ABZ camp, made it on to the list, as did veteran ANC member Thenjiwe Mtintso, South Africa’s ambassador to Italy.

An ANC insider who was at the nomination conference said not a single person raised any objections or asked for the removal of Cele’s name.

Another source said Motlanthe was left out of the NEC list because he was nominated only for the position of deputy president. When the votes were cast, Motlanthe lost out to Cyril Ramaphosa.

Winnie Madikizela-Mandela, Zola Skweyiya, Makhenkesi Stofile, Tony Yengeni and his wife Lumka also did not feature in the KZN list.

Some surprise inclusions were KZN Legislature speaker Peggy Nkonyeni, Finance Minister Pravin Gordhan and former youth league leader and KZN MEC for Arts, Culture, Sports and Recreation Ntombikayise Sibhidla-Saphetha.

Intelligence Minister Siyabonga Cwele and Transport Minister Ben Martins, who also hail from KZN, made it onto the KZN list.

Public Works Minister Thulas Nxesi was also picked by KZN amid speculation that this was to thank him for the flack he has taken on behalf of Zuma over the R248 million upgrade to his Nkandla home.

The province also nominated Cosatu president S’dumo Dlamini,who according to weekend reports also made it on to the Eastern Cape and Free State lists.

African Union Commission chairperson Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma was a popular inclusion on the KZN list and former Reserve Bank governor Tito Mboweni was an unexpected pick.

In an apparent push to ensure a generational mix within the NEC, former youth league members nominated by KZN included Zuma’s spokesperson, Zizi Kodwa, Police Minister Nathi Mthethwa, Public Enterprises Minister Malusi Gigaba and Febe Potgieter-Gqubule.

One of KZN’s NEC nominees, Free State Health MEC Fezi Ngubentombi, died in a car accident on Sunday.

Long-standing NEC members who featured on the KZN list include Jeremy Cronin, Enoch Godongwana, Ebrahim Ebrahim, Derek Hanekom, Pallo Jordan, Trevor Manuel, Billy Masetlha, Sbu Ndebele, Joel Netshitenze, Naledi Pandor and Jeff Radebe, Sue van der Merwe and Lindiwe and Max Sisulu.

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions. publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.