KZN team return with 25 medals

2010-10-19 00:00

THE Absa Grey College Invitation athletics­ meeting, now the biggest interschools’ meeting in the country, saw 22 boy teams and 20 girl teams from around the country competing at the Free State Stadium.

It is the 10th year that an invitation side from KwaZulu-Natal has competed and they did well, returning with a total of 25 medals, which included 10 gold, eight silver and seven bronze. A further nine events saw the KZN athletes in fourth place, just missing out on a medal.

The story of the day was the exceptional running of Justine Palframan from Eshowe. She lived up to her re-putation after having represented South Africa in the 200 m at U19 level at the recent junior world championships in Canada. She won all three sprints in the girls’ U17 and in record times, to be awarded the overall top athlete of the day.

Palframan won the 100 m in a time of 11,90 seconds, the 200 m in 23,58 seconds and the 400 m in 54,27 seconds and now holds an incredible nine of the 12 sprint records from U14 to U17. Her time in the 200 m race would have put her into the women’s semi-finals at the recent Commonwealth Games in Delhi. It is also the fourth fastest time in her age group in the world.

Two other KZN athletes broke records: Simone Meyer from Pionier, throwing the U17 girl’s discus 43,96 metres and in the boy’s U16, Le Roux Lombard from the Pongola Akademie threw the javelin 64,04 metres.Other gold medal winners were Manzi Sishsi­ (GHS) in the girls’ U17 triple jump, Quinton Hitge (Port Natal) in the U17 boys’ 100 m and 200 m, Cherri­-Lee King (Voortrekker) in the girls’ U14 long jump and U14 Roland Pienaar (Howick) in the boys’ discus.


Silver medal winners: U14 boys:

Pienaar (Howick) — shot put, Phakana Zondi (Greytown) — 100 m, David Palframan (DHS) — 400 m.

U 15 girls: Sarah MacKay (Ladysmith) — long jump

U16 girls: Luschano Smidt (Durban Girls College) — 800m, Rochelle Coetzee (Port Natal) — high jump

U17 girls: Meyer (Pionier) — shot put

U17 boys: Nkosi Mhlankwana (Njoloba) — 1 500 m

Bronze medal winners: U14 girls: Bianca Birkenstock (Crawford) — 1 500 m

U15 girls: Morgan Nott (TWC) — high jump

U15 boys: Sonwabiso Skosana (Glenwood) — 100 m and 400 m

U16 boys: Mitchell Hayes (DHS) — shot put, Cameron Donkin (DHS) — discus

U17 girls: Laura Cole (St Anne’s) — 1 500 m.

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions. publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.