KZN team successfully defend Freedom Cup

2009-10-06 00:00

THE strong, highly motivated Kwa-Zulu-Natal team successfully defended the Freedom Cup at the South African Junior Championships in perfect surf at Nahoon Reef in East London on Sunday­ when they beat 2007 champions and arch rivals Western Province by a mere 476 points.

Eastern Province came third, hosts Border were fourth, Boland finished fifth, KwaZulu-Natal South were sixth, Southern Cape seventh and the South African Development Academy team were eighth.

The Durban team deservedly won the Team Spirit Trophy for their war cry, team spirit and support of each other throughout the championships.

Defending U18 champion and WP captain Matthew Bromley was outstanding throughout the event and earned his victory in the premier division final. His 13,5 points were good enough to beat Beyrick de Vries of KZN who scored 12,75 to finish second. Nick Godfrey of EP was third with 11,4 points and Devin Lane of KZN posted 6,25 to end fourth.

Host province Border had something to celebrate when Alice McGregor beat Kirsty Delport of KZN to take honours in the U18 girls’ final. Holly Armstrong of WP was third and Alice­’s twin sister Laurie came fourth.

In the U16 boys’ final, David van Zyl of KZN scored 14 points, which meant that 2008 runner-up Mikey February had to settle for second spot once again. Jean du Plessis of Border came third and fourth place went to Ruben Lammers­ of Southern Cape.

With an air ticket to the 2010 Rip Curl Junior International up for grabs, defending U16 girls’ champion Bianca Buitendag of EP powered her way to victory over fellow national­ junior team member Sarah Baum of KZN. Cara MacDonald of Border­ was third and Sabrina Scott of WP came fourth.

Newly selected SA junior team member Diran Zakarian of Boland posted the highest score of all the finals, a massive­ 17,75 in the U14 boys’ division to take the title away from 2008 champion­ Slade Prestwich of KZN.

Benji Brand and fellow WP surfer Nic Notten, who was named the most improved­ surfer at the championships, were third and fourth, respectively.

In the U14 girls’ division last year’s runner-up, Carryn MacNicol of KZN, went one better and took gold, while 2008 U12 girls’ champion Inge McLaren of Border was second ahead of Nina Woermann of WP and Nicole Pallett of KZN.

The U12 boys’ final was one of the best heats of the contest, as the four talented­ surfers gave it their all in the perfect 1-metre to 1,2-metre Nahoon Reef surf.

In the end, Matthew McGillivray­ of EP, who was fourth in this division last year, edged out Jordy Maree of WP to take gold, while Steffen Burrows and Boland team-mate Adin Masencamp had to settle for third and fourth, respectively.

Jordy Maree was named surfer of the contest for his outstanding surfing in all of the heats he competed in.

Plucky Chanelle Botha, who was fourth in this final in 2008, gave KZN South a title to take home when she beat Anoush Zakarian of Boland into second place in the girls’ U12 division, while Teal Hogg of KZN was third just ahead of Kim van Greunen of EP.

The sportsmanship trophy was awarded to Jarred Charlton of KZN South who went to the assistance of a team-mate whose leash had broken during a heat.

The five-day annual South African Junior championships got under way in tough 1,8-metre surf on Wednesday and was put under pressure by onshore surf, rain and mist on the final day which forced the event to go on hold for two hours.

Overall however, Nahoon Reef lived up to its reputation as one of South Africa­’s best reef breaks and the 200 or so surfers who competed in the event will return to their provinces having surfed in some of the most challenging waves of their lives.

The event was first held in 1996 and is the most important contest for junior surfers in South Africa.

It not only determines national champions in the U18, U16, U14 and U12 boys’ and girls’ age divisions but it also determines the winning provincial team each year.

The final results are available on


U18 boys: 1. Matthew Bromley (WP), 2. Beyrick de Vries (KZN), 3. Nick Godfrey (EP), 4. Devin Lane (KZN).

U18 girls: 1. Alice MacGregor (BOR), 2. Kirsty Delport (KZN), 3. Holly Armstrong (WP), 4. Laurie MacGregor (BOR).

U16 boys: 1. David van Zyly (KZN), 2. Michael February (WP), 3. Jean du Plessis (BOR), 4. Ruben Lammers (S CAPE).

U16 girls: 1. Bianca Buitendag (S/CAPE), 2. Sarah Baum (KZN), 2. Cara MacDonald (BOR), 3. Sabrina Scott (WP).

U14 boys: 1. Diran Zakarian (BOL), 2. Slade Prestwich (KZN), 3. Benji Brand (WP), 4. Nic Notten (WP).

U14 girls: 1. Carryn MacNicol (KZN), 2. Inge Mclaren (BOR), 3. Nina Woermann (WP), 4. Nicole Pallet (KZN).

U12 boys: 1. Matthew McGillvray (EP), 2. Jordy Maree (WP), 3. Steffen Burrows (BOL), 4. Adin Masencamp (BOL).

U12 girls: 1. Chanelle Botha (SKZN), 2. Anoush Zakarian (BOL), 3. Teal Hogg (KZN), 4. Kim van Greunen (EP).


1. KZN 40 826; 2. WP 40 350; 3. EP 35 506; 4. Border 31 662; 5. Boland 30 482; 6. KZN South 30 312; 7. S Cape 23,740; 8. Development Academy team 19 982.

Surfer of the contest: Jordy Maree (WP).

Most improved surfer: Nic Notten (WP).

Sportsmanship trophy: Jarred Charlton (KZN South).

Team spirit award: KZN.

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions. publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.