KZN trio in the run for Athletics SA top post

2014-05-03 00:00

THREE officials from KZN are among the five officials nominated to become the new president of Athletics South Africa (ASA).

The names of Steve Mkasi, Sello Mokoena and Aleck Skhosana from KZN were announced by ASA yesterday morning in Johannesburg.

The other two nominees are Dr Harold Adams from Boland and James Evans, the contentious former president of ASA who was ousted with his council during a palace revolution in ASA late last year.

Central Gauteng’s Hendrick Ramaala, an Olympic athlete and ASA’s former deputy president who two weeks ago competed in the the second Two Oceans race, was not nominated by his province because he had competed in the colours of Nedbank, which sponsors Gauteng North.

Ramaala appealed to the South Gauteng High Court on Thursday, but the case was scrapped.

ASA’s interim council had stripped of all authority Evans and his council at the end of last year, but the interim committee was not recognised by the International Association of Athletic Federations.

After a prolonged stalemate between the interim and Evan’s councils, the federation had mediated an ad hoc-committee to manage athletics in South Africa until an election could be held on May 24.

Daan du Toit, chairperson of the ad hoc committee who currently manages the sport ahead of the May 24 election, said the committee will meet next week Friday in Potchefstroom during the SA Open meeting to hear any objections against the list of nominees.

The constitution of ASA requires for at least three of its ten council members to be women.


For president: Harold Adams (Boland), James Evans (WP), Steve Mkasi (KZN), Sello Mokoena (KZN) en Alexk Skhosana (KZN).

For deputy president: Dr. Harold Adams (Boland), James Evans (WP), Dr. Kulu Ferreira (Vrystaat), Motlatsi Keikabile (North West North), Daan Louw (Border), William Mokatsanayne (Central Gauteng), Sello Mkoena (KZN).

Chair cross country: Jakes Jacobs (WP), Andy James (WP), Steven Khanyile (Central Gauteng), Daan Louw (Border), Sello Mokoena (KZN).

Chair road running: James Evans (WP), Klasie Geldenhuys (Free State), Jakes Jacobs (WP), Steve Mkasi (KZN), James Moloi (Central Gauteng), Ferdie Nel (Griekwas), Norrie Williamson (KZN).

Chair track and field: James Evans (WP), Pieter Lourens (Boland), Cedrick van Wyk (WP).

Chair athletes committee: Dorah Mngwevu (Central Gauteng), Elizna Naudé (Free State).

Additional members: Leon Bannau (Limpopo), Allen Barnes (WP), James Evans (WP), Klasie Geldenhuys (Free State), Ntathu Gwadiso (Border), Rishi Hansrajh (KZN), Jakes Jacobs (WP), Motlatsi Keikabile (North West North), Sabata Kumalo (Vaal Triangle), Wimpie Lodewyk (Free State), Pieter Lourens (Boland), Esther Malema (Limpopo), Richard Mayer (Central Gauteng), Steve Mkaasi (KZN), Hendrik Mokganyetsi (DCS), James Moloi (Central Gauteng), Lungisile Molwana (Transkei), Ferdie Nel (Griekwas), Lee-Roy Newton (KZN), Shireen Noble (SWWD), Steven Swarts (Free State), Owen van Niekerk (Central Gauteng), Norrie Williamson (KZN).

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions. publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.