Kearsney first team give good account, but Old Cricks win the day

2014-11-27 00:00

KEARSNEY College’s first cricket team rounded off their year with the annual T20 match against the Old Cricks at the school last Friday.

It’s a traditional fixture with the Old Cricks made up of past pupils and first team players, some who have progressed to provincial level.

While the usual misty ­conditions found at the top of Botha’s Hill greeted the fixture, it wasn’t enough to deter the players who were keen to have a hit, throw and run.

The Cricks had first dig and managed a testing 200 in their 20 overs, captain Benji Hector leading the way with 81. Hector was the school’s first team captain in 1997 and he captained the Natal Schools’ side the same year before playing at provincial level. He showed he had lost none of his touch with bat in hand, keeping the schoolboys working in the field as he used only 45 balls for his runs.

In reply, the schoolboys gave a good account of themselves, trying hard to meet the 10 runs an over required but ultimately falling short as they were bowled out for 173 in a brave effort.

It gave the Cricks a 27-run win, with Hector again prominent as he held four catches.

Cricket won the day, even conquering the weather for once and while the Cricks enjoyed their win, the schoolboys will want to put one over the older statesmen next time round.

Old Cricks 200 (Hector 81)

Kearsney 173

Cricks won by 27 runs

Old Cricks Team: Ricardo Gouveia (2007) SA Schools, Benji Hector (Capt) (1997) Natal Schools Captain and Senior Provincial, Greg Fotheringham (2003) KZN Amateur, Durham 2nd XI, Sussex 2nd XI, Dave Agar (2008) KZN U19, Craig Kirsten (2012) SA Schools 2011 and 2012, SA U19 2013, 1st XI, Matt Needham (2003) 1st XI, Richard Pentecost (2010) KZN U19, Jason Lacon-Allin (2010) 1st XI, Kyle Connolly (2004) 1st XI, Dave Cameron (2003) 1st XI, Robert McGrath (2013) 1st XI, Jordan Gregory (2013) 1st XI.

Kearsney Team: Tristan Tedder KZN U17 Captain 2013, KZN Cubs 2012, James Tedder KZN U17, Ross Koekemoer KZN U15 2012, Keegan Foss KZN U19 2014, Keean Rencken, Matthew Carlson, James Stamatis, Liam Mac Court, Seb Pau, Jayme Crouch, Graham Hudson, Matt Watts, Francois van der Merwe, Luke Smith.

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions. publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.