KwaZulu-Natal’s athletes put in exciting times all round

2011-12-21 00:00

KWAZULU-NATAL’S World 4x400-metre relay silver medallist Shane Victor won his 300 m heat at the penultimate Yellow Pages event in Stellenbosch on Thursday recording 34,03 seconds from lane seven. However, both 200 m SA junior champion Wayde van Niekerk and Shaun de Jager raced to faster times in the other heat recording 33,32 and 33,64 seconds respectively and putting Victor into third position. Long jumper Luvo Manyonga looked to be on form and ready for the 2012 season when he leapt 8,07 metres with his first trial; however, this was followed by four no-jumps.

In Saturday’s fourth and final Yellow Pages event in Parow Long Jumper Khotso Mokoena was unable to break eight metres but still won the competition with a leap of 7,98 metres, while Cindy Stewart wrapped up a successful series with another win in the 60 m sprints in 7,52 seconds leaving Sonja van der Merwe in second in 7,63 seconds.

Stella’s Babalo Mtsokoba had a 100 m lead over youngster Adam Lipschits in the Calder Cup 10 km, the final road race of the year hosted by Durban Athletic Club at Kings Park Stadium. This is the first major podium place for Mtsokoba who covered the flat fast course in 32,33 seconds with Lipschits second and first junior in 32,53. Mr Prices Steve Shepard was third a further 33 seconds adrift.

The northerly headwind slowed the times with Janene Carey winning the women’s race in 38,46 with Maya Laurie in hard pursuit only 100 metre off the pace. Carey added the 35-39 age group, while Laurie was first in the 40-49 category. Although finishing over two minutes later, Happiness Mkhize completed the podium and earned the first junior prize for her 41,09-second finish. Over 800 runners finished the race in the cut-off time with Wiseman Hlongwa and Antoinette Gibbs the first male and female walkers across the line.

Lucky Miya from the appropriately named Gallopers Club won the annual KwaZulu Weavers Bergville to Winterton 23 km Holiday Challenge in 1:16,54 opening 300 metres over his nearest rival, Bonginkosi Zwane from Madadeni.

Nyembe from the Ladysmith’s Klip River Club was third and led the club to the team prize. Tracy Zunckel, who was running with a temporary licence, dominated the women’s race recording 1:42,02 when she stormed into the Winterton Country Club. Although she had over seven minutes lead over Bambi de Wet from Harrismith, De Wet had the concilliation of winning the 40-49 age category. Tina Nel completed the podium and the Klipriver Club secured the double in the team prize.

Over 280 runners lined up for the second Umhlanga MTN Summer Carnival’s 12 km-18 km Trail Run and Walk where Eric Ngubane and Mandy Matthews defended their 2010 titles.

Ngubane was tucked behind Sandile Lembethe as the duo charged through the eight-kilometre mark in 43 minutes with Peter Sehlohe a few metres adrift in third. As Lembethe took a wrong turning Ngubane made his push on the steep climb up to Sibaya opening a lead that Lembethe would find impossible to close.

Completing the 18 km in a shattering 1:16,05, Ngubane had over 500 m lead when he crossed the line with Lembethe finishing with 1:17,56 and Sehlohe closing the podium in 1:20,09.

Local lass, Mandy Matthews led from the start to tape among the small field of women who elected to run the 18 km. Constantly in control of the pace Matthews secured the honours in 1:54,05, over two minutes clear of Mandy Walters who clocked 1:56,20 with Jetaime Ribbink in close pursuit in 1:56,45.

The KZN Athletics office closed at the weekend and will re-open in January 9, which means runners entering the Ronnie Davel Memorial 16 km at Hilton on January 8 will be allowed to enter using their 2011 licence numbers. As the licence numbers are still to be distributed to the majority of clubs it is expected the 2011 licences will be valid to at least the end of January.

DAC 10 km — Kings Park Stadium


1. Babalo Mtsokoba Stella A C 32,33

2. Adam Lipschits Mr Price A C 32,53

3. Steve Shepard Mr Price A C 33,26

35 to 39: Nkosinathi Ngcongo Stella A C 34,16

40 to 49: Willie Majombozi Boxer A C 36,50

50 to 59: Jan Koegelenberg Mr Price A C 38,21

60+: Mbekekseni Mchunu Savages A C44,19

70+: Barry Varty YWP A C 58,25

Junior: Adam Lipschits Mr Price A C 32,53

Walker: Wiseman Hlongwa Umlazi Dev 51,36 Women:

1. Janene Carey Boxer A C 38,46

2. Maya Laurie Boxer A C 39,07

3. Happiness Mkhize Eskom Gijiams 41,09

35 to 39: Janene Carey Boxer A C 38,46

40 to 49: Maya Laurie Boxer A C 39,07

50 to 59: Robyn Thompson Athletic North 45,56

60+: Gill Tregenna West A C 55,54

70+: Hester Bekker Stella A C 77,43

Junior: Happiness Mkhize Eskom Gijiams 41,09

Walker: Antoinette Gibbs H/Way A C 67:42

KwaZulu Weavers 23 km Bergville to Winterton


1. Lucky Miya Gallopers A C 1:16,54

2. Bonginkosi Zwane Madadeni A C 1:17,43

3. S. Nyembe Klip River A C 1:17,55

40 to 49: Bethuel Mlambo Nedbank A C 1:28,46

50 to 59: Magic Hlatswayo Klip River A C 1:41,38

60+: Mac McKenzie LAC 2:04,32

Junior: Charles Mphuluti Madadeni A C 1:24,32

Walker: Jeff Lupton-Smith RWFL 2:29,30

Team: Klipriver A C


1. Tracey ZunckelInd 1:42,02

2. Bambi de Wet Harrismith A C 1:49,22

3. Tina NelInd 1:55,06

40 to 49: Bambi de Wet Harrismith A C 1:49,22

50 to 59: Cathy Cunningham Ind 1:59,00

60+: Linda Vivian Umhlutuze A C 2:19,20

Junior: Sibongile Lushaba Klip River A C 1:56,53

Walker: Xolisile Mhlongo Klip River A C 2:32,39

Team: Klip River A C

Salomon Umhlanga Trail Race

Men’s 18 km 1. Eric Ngubane 1:16,05, 2. Sandile Lembathe 1:17,56, 3. Peter Sehlohe 1:20,09

Women’s 18 km: 1. Mandy Matthews 1:54,05, 2. Mandy Walters 1:56,20, 3. Jetaime Ribbink 1:56,45

Men’s 12 km: 1. Carlos Hartman 1:09,33, 2. Billy White 1:10,21, 3. Dean Marais 1:10,52

Women’s 12 km: 1. Karen Bahrens 1:11,25, 2. Michelle Morten1:11,43, 3. Lisa Stewart 1:12,16

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions. publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.