Lambie to start for Boks’ clash

2012-06-12 00:00

PAT Lambie is certain to return to the Springbok starting line-up for Saturday’s second Test against England at Ellis Park.

An injury to Zane Kirchner, who started at fullback ahead of Lambie in the first Test in Durban on Saturday evening, has now all but confirmed his selection.

Meyer, not wanting to “tinker” with a settling team, suggested he would again defy form and talent by retaining Kirchner for Ellis Park, but injury has opened the door to Lambie.

“In this team your place is not guaranteed and we will again look at England’s strong points and weaknesses before making our selection,” Meyer said last night.

“I think Patrick [Lambie] did well when he came on at fullback in Durban and chances are good that he will start from that position on Saturday. We want to keep continuity and we want to get to the point where we establish some momentum and rhythm.”

Springboks Gio Aplon (Stormers) and Dean Greyling (Bulls) have been called up to the national squad following injuries to Kirchner and prop Coenie Oosthuizen.

Oosthuizen experienced some stiffness to his shoulder and neck yesterday morning and he will undergo a scan today before a decision on his fitness is made.

The inclusion of the exciting Gio Aplon on the bench will also be widely welcomed as he would add a creative spark to the Springbok backline in the final quarter.

Centre Frans Steyn and tighthead prop Jannie du Plessis did not train with the Boks yesterday, but team doctor Craig Roberts said their injuries were not serious and they would be ready for Saturday.

A more relaxed Meyer told a media gathering yesterday that he was looking for greater consistency from the Boks.

• England will rest their first-choice players for the clash against the South African Southern Barbarians in Kimberley tomorrow.

England – 15 Alex Goode, 14 David Strettle, 13 Anthony Allen, 12 Jordan Turner-Hall, 11 Christian Wade, 10 Charlie Hodgson, 9 Danny Care, 6 James Haskell, 7 Carl Fearns, 8 Thomas Waldrom, 5 George Robson (c), 4 Graham Kitchener, 3 Paul Doran Jones, 2 Joe Gray, 1 Matt Mullan.

Replacements: 16 Tom Youngs, 17 Rupert Harden, 18 Tom Palmer, 19 Jamie Gibson, 20 Lee Dickson, 21 George Lowe, 22 Nick Abendanon.

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions. publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.