Local flavour to SA hockey teams

2008-04-15 00:00

THE South Africa U21 hockey selectors have named women’s and men’s teams to take part in national tournaments and a series against Pakistan.

The first SA U21 men’s team will play against the touring Pakistan U21 team in a five-Test series in Durban from this Sunday to next Saturday, with the second squad participating in the senior interprovincial tournament on the Absa Puk/NWU turfs at the University of North West in Potchefstroom from May 4 to 10.

The SA women’s U21 team will be participating in the Spar IPT at Queensmead in Durban from May 18 to 24.

There are three KZN Midlands players in the team to meet Pakistan U21, while the team for IPT in Potchefstroom will field four.

Four players in the SA U21 men’s line-ups finished their schooling at Hilton College, while three were at Maritzburg College.

The SA U21 women’s team has one player who completed grade 12 at St Anne’s College, Sarah Harley, who is now at the University of Johannesburg and plays provincially for Southern Gauteng.


Men (for Pakistan series): Matt Botha (KZN Coastal), Matt Coombes (KZN Midlands), Kevan Demartinis (KZN Coastal), Matthew Fairweather (NW), Ryan Ferris (Free State), Ashlin Freddy (WP), Giovanni Joseph (Griqualand West), Duzo Khanyile (KZN Midlands), Jacques le Roux (WP), Kyle Lottering (WP), Owen Mvimbi (SG), Sihle Ntule (KZN Coastal), Taine Paton (KZN Coastal), Eugene Pelteret (WP), Vince Prior (NW), Satchi Reddy (EP), Dominic Scott (KZN Midlands), Anthony Vervoort (NG).

Men (for senior IPT): Botha, Demartinis, Tim Drummond (KZN Midlands), Tauriq Ebrahim (WP), Fairweather, Warren Grobler (WP), Khanyile, Charles Lesia (SG), Lottering, Ben Mbana (NG), Mvimbi, Paton, Pelteret, Dalan Phillips (KZN Midlands), Prior, Reddy, Scott, David Wilson (WP).

Women: Hanli Hattingh (WP), Kameel Jassen (Southern Gauteng), Mapule Mokoena (SG), Loreen Irvine (North West), Julia Cass (SG), Pippa Rabey (WP), Heloise Labuschagne (NW), Kelly Madsen (KZN Coastal), Ncedisa Magwentshu (SG), Jayde Mayne (WP), Chrizelle Andries (Northern Gauteng), Nicole de Vries (SG), Sulette Damons (NW), Catherine McNulty (SG), Nicole Kemp (EP), Sarah Harley (SG), Roxanne Turner (capt, SG), Candice Manuel (WP). Non-travelling reserves: Michaela Patterson (WP), Louise Coertzen (SG), Cathy Drummond (WP), Faye Irvine (SA U18/KZN Coastal), Princess Khuzwayo (NW), Taryn Moses (NG).

Join the conversation!

24.com encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions.

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire 24.com network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.