Lwazi Mvovo can’t make it for Barney’s Army clash

2012-06-22 00:00

WITH the Boks sweating over the fitness of wing Bryan Habana, the Sharks have failed to secure the services of Lwazi Mvovo for the John “Barney” Smit testimonial game at King’s Park tonight.

The Sharks were hoping to fly Mvovo back from Port Elizabeth for the game, but Habana picked up a slight niggle at Ellis Park and coach Heyneke Meyer has Mvovo on stand-by.

Still, there is plenty to amuse and enthuse tonight with a Sharks line-up including five Springboks and a host of Super Rugby players.

Former Sharks and Springbok coach Ian McIntosh is in charge of Barney’s Army and after practice yesterday he and Smit named an experienced team crowded with well-know international players for tonight’s game.

Barney’s team includes the only three players boasting 100 caps or more for the Springboks (John Smit, Victor Matfield and Percy Montgomery). They are joined by internationals from New Zealand, Argentina, Scotland and England and a number of former Sharks in eighthman Shaun Sowerby, flyhalf Butch James, centre Marius Joubert and popular wing Brent Russell.

Proceeds from the game are for Smit’s charities.


Sharks: 15 Louis Ludik, 14 Odwa Ndungane, 13 Tim Whitehead, 12 Meyer Bosman, 11 Sibusiso Sithole, 10 Riaan Viljoen, 9 Charl McLeod, 8 Lubabalo Mtembu, 7 Jean Deysel (c), 6 Francois Kleinhans, 5 Anton Bresler, 4 Jandre Marais, 3 Wiehahn Herbst, 2 Criag Burden, 1 Dale Chadwick.

Replacements: 16 Kyle Cooper, 17 Julian Redelinghuys, 18 Peet Marais, 19 Chris Cloete, 20 Jacobus Reinach, 21 Gouws Prinsloo, 22 Rosko Specman

Barney’s Army: 15 Percy Montgomery — Springboks 14. Brent Russell — Springboks 13. Matt Banahan — England 12. Marius Joubert — Springboks 11. Joe Maddock — NZ Maori 10. Butch James — Springboks 9. Mark McMillian — Bath 8. Shaun Sowerby — Springbok 7. Francois Louw — Springbok 6. Julian Salvi — ACT Brumbies 5. Victor Matfield — Springboks

4. Jason White — Scotland 3. Faan Rautenbach — Springboks 2. John Smit — Springboks 1. Martin Scelzo — Argentina Replacements: 16. Peter Dixon — Stormers 17. Danie Minnie — Sharks XV 18. Rob Linde — Stormers 19. Hottie Louw – Springboks 20. Rory Kockott – Sharks 21. Stephen Donald – New Zealand 22. Stefan Terblanche – Springboks

Referee: Mark Lawrence. Kick-off: 7.05 pm.

Join the conversation!

24.com encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions.

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire 24.com network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.