McGregor wins Hawaii thriller

2014-05-20 00:00

HONOLULU — Hank McGregor underscored his status as one of the best paddlers on the planet by winning a second title in the Maui Jim Molokai Challenge in Hawaii on Sunday, beating Australian star Clint Robinson in a thrilling finish to the tough 56 km race.

Faced with tough flat and windless conditions for the Kaiwi channel crossing between Molokai and Oahu, the title race quickly turned into a two-horse affair between defending champion Robinson and 2009 champ and current K1 World Marathon Champion McGregor. McGregor made a charge with six kilometres to go and led by almost a minute as he approached the turn at the fabled China Wall, where he was able to surf the swell close to the shore thanks to the mild ocean conditions.

Robinson however put in a serious last-ditch effort to reel in McGregor as the turned into the estuary that houses the finish, and in the final two kilometres he ground McGregor’s lead down to 30 seconds.

Australians Cory Hill and Jeremy Cotter filled third and fourth places respectively before current world series leader and Molokai debutant Jasper Mocké crossed the line to take fifth, just ahead of another Australian stalwart Martin Kenny.

Twelve times champion Oscar Chalupsky finished 10th, with the Durban North brothers Ross and Bruce Poacher the first double ski crew home in 11th.

The women’s race was won by Rachel Clarke from Lisa Wadling, and the double ski crew of Sally Marks and Alena Greensill.

The field was made to work hard in the flat conditions with no assistance from the trade winds and swell, which deserted the Kaiwi channel after a fortnight of excellent downwind racing conditions. Temperatures topped 30° C throughout the race, with stifling humidity making racing tough for the paddlers.

The prevailing conditions replicated last year’s disappearance for the trade winds, and came close to replicating the 2009 conditions in which McGregor took his maiden Molokai title.

Summary of results for Maui Jim Molokai Challenge

Overall: 1. Hank McGregor 3:35:17

2. Clint Robinson 3:35:40

3. Cory Hill 3:41:49

4. Jeremy Cotter 3:44:24

5. Jasper Mocké 3:48:34

6. Martin Kenny 3:48:50

7. Lewis Laughlin 3:52:58

8. Dorian Wolter 3:57:46

9. Hiromana Flores 3:59:13

10. Oscar Chalupsky 4:02:15.

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions. publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.