Mixed results in final KZN Sprint regattas

2010-04-01 00:00

THE final two regattas of the KZN Sprint Championships took place at Nagle Dam last weekend. These were the Fezela 500 metre Sprints on Saturday and the Kingfisher 200m Sprints on Sunday.

Saturday proved a difficult day for the paddlers, with a strong swirling headwind and rain during the morning, a brief period of calm in the middle of the day and then a strong tailwind during the afternoon session. This made for a very mixed bag of times and was especially testing for the many Guppy paddlers as they were doing both 1 000 m and long-distance races, having missed the previous two regattas.

Len Jenkins won the Men’s 500m K1 from Frans Smit and Stuart MacLaren. This might have been different if 1 000 m winner Nick Stubbs had not been forced to withdraw after the heats for fear of irritating a long-standing back injury in the rough conditions.

Stu Waterworth and Cam Schoeman continued their dominance in the K2s, winning in an excellent 1 minute 32,95 seconds from Frans Smit and Gregor Martin in the 500 m and repeated this in the 200 m K2 with a 34,92. As expected, the specialist came to the fore in the 200m K1 with Gregor Martin taking the Gold from Smit and Schoeman.

In the boys’ races, Blaine Beresford and Dewalt Hattingh shared the spoils, Beresford winning the 500 m and Hattingh the 200 m with Brandon van der Walt third in both cases. In the K2s, Beresford and Hattingh won both distances from Van der Walt and Brett Willson.

In the much smaller women’s field, Tiffany Kruger continued her complete dominance as did Kerry Segal in the girl’s category, where she and Brittany Petersen, both racing in the U16 category, took first and second places ahead of the leading U18, Jenna Starr.

A total of 146 sprinters took part in the championships, including a strong entry of 50 paddlers from the six development projects around the province.

KZN’s sprinters now go into camp for final preparations for the SA Championships and National Trials to be held at the same venue in three weeks’ time. These championships will also feature trials for the SA team of one boy and one girl to represent the country at the first-ever Youth Olympics in Singapore later this year. These athletes will be racing in both slalom and sprint events, neither of which conform to the traditional format at the senior Olympics. The slalom is raced on flat water on a zig-zag course around buoys, rather than down a rough-water course through hanging gates. Sprints are run on a figure-of-eight 250 m course. In both cases, the races are head-to-head affairs with two boats on the courses at a time. Special courses for the SA trials are being prepared at Nagle Dam.

The KZN Sprint Team for the Championships will be announced shortly.

The Victor and Victrix Ludorum winners, those earning the most points over all the events of the KZN Sprint Championships, were:

Guppy Girls U8 — 1. Chloe Starr EPW 8

Guppy Boys U8 — 1. Matthew Millward MUR/NAT 16

Guppy Girls U10 — 1. Amy Peckett and Riley van Rooyen EPW 48, 3. Casey Robertson RID 32

Guppy Boys U10 – 1. Joseph Clacey EPW 24, 2. Matthew Millward MUR/NAT 16, 3. Menzie Mthembu and Mpendula Mthethwa MKH 8.

Guppy Girls U12 — 1. Rebecca van Rooyen EPW 46, 2. Cana Peek EPW 42, 3. Jamie-Lee Robertson FEZ 30.

Guppy Boys U12 — 1. Christopher Kwyma UMZ 70, 2. Nhlonipo Shinga THO 58, 3. Thobani Nzuza LEM 44.

Girls U14 — 1. Jordan Taylor AMA 16, 2. Rebecca Martin EPW 8.5, 3. Emily Latt EPW 4.5.

Boys U14 — 1. Louis Hattingh MAR/NAT 84.5, 2. Mthobisi Cele LEM 67.5, 3. Sipho Luthuli AMA 57.5.

Girls U16 — 1. Kerry Segal AMA 30, 2. Brittany Petersen EPW 25, 3. Jordan Peek EPW 12.

Boys U16 — 1. Hansome Nkhoesa UMZ 65.5, 2. Calvin Griffiths KIN 51, 3. Mboniseni Gcabashe LEM 43.5

Girls U18 — 1. Jenna Starr EPW/NAT 20, Jenna Ward AMA 11, 3. Cindy Stephens KIN 9.

Boys U18 — 1. Blaine Beresford and Dewalt Hattingh MAR 77, 3. Brandon van der Walt UKN 68.

Senior Women — 1. Tiffany Kruger AMA 47, 2. Vicky Chiazzari(U21) UKN 28, 3. Lorna Oliver(SV) NAT 26.5

U21 Men — 1. Frans Smit NAT 27, 2. Stu MacLaren NAT 22.5, 3. Martin van den Bergh NAT 15.5.

Senior Men — Frans Smit NAT 48.5, 2. Len Jenkins NAT 46, 3. Cam Schoeman NAT 45

SV Women — 1. Lorna Oliver 26.5, 2. Debbie Germiquet UMZ 24, 3. Cavill Cordes UMZ 14.5

SV Men — 1. Marc Germiquet UMZ 32, 2. Warren Valentine NAT 24, 3. Bryan Cordes(SM) UMZ 22.

M Men — 1. Peter Duncan STE and Linton Hope DUC 31.5, 3. Tim Cornish (SGM) 14.

Join the conversation!

24.com encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions.

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire 24.com network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.