More KZN players for Craven Week trials

2013-05-20 00:00

PLAYERS to take part in a further trial in preparation for Craven Week were named following the trials matches between teams from the various KwaZulu-Natal regions held last Tuesday.

The final trial will take place at at Woodburn from 1 pm tomorrow, after registration and assessments of individual fitness.

At U16 level only one side is selected so there are four teams with a few extras that will participate.

At U18 level there are six teams that have been invited to the final trial, with some positions doubled up. This is due to having to select three teams, the main side to go to Craven Week and an academy side and a Country District team.

The top schools in the province rightly have the greatest numbers of players selected at U18.

Glenwood have 19, the highest number from one school.

Kearsney have 13 players and Maritzburg College have 12.

The selectors have included four players each from Pionier and Greytown with three coming from Sarel Cilliers, Port Shepstone and Richards Bay for possible inclusion in the Country Districts team.

At U16 level Glenwood have 12 players selected, Westville have 13 and College nine, followed by Hilton and Michaelhouse with seven apiece.


Kyle XV: T Mkhize (Empangeni), A Olivier (Ashton), L Mdakane (Treverton), E Botes (Pionier), R du Toit (Emp), C Foord (Pio), J Swanepoel (Vryheid), N Buthelezi (Felixton), C Rodriques (Richardsbaai), M Cele (Greytown), A Booyse (Ferrum), J Pretorius (Rb), A Ndlovu (Sarel Cilliers), R Mpontshana (Dundee), J Heunis (Rb)

Mtshali XV: T Pickering (Trev), N Ncanana (Port Shepstone)/M Mthethwa (SC), E Marx (Pio), B Mhlonzi (John Ross), H Geldart (Weston), B Rademeyer (Suidnatal)/S Karlson (Howick), T Ndlele (SC), A Mdudi (PS), J Majolo (Gtn), S Potgieter (JR), R Elliott (PS), A Gwala (Gtn), L Mbanda (Wartburg), C Botha (Pio), S Mnikathi (How), K Ngema (Gtn)

Prinsloo XV: D van Tonder (Glenwood)/C Holenstein (Michaelhouse), J Meaker (Kearsney)/B Greaves (St Charles), M Moloi (Ksn), S Buthelezi (Maritzburg College)/M du Toit (Ksn), S van den Heever (Gwd), W Hippolite (Gwd), G Coetzee (Gwd), N Maseko (Hilton), R McHardy (Westville), C Jonas (Gwd), B Ngwenya (MC), T Smith (Ksn), B Cremer (Ksn)/M Coetzee (MC), S Mathiwane (Gwd), C Lines (Ksn)

Blose XV: P Mngadi (Gwd)/S Sithole (MC), V Khatide (MC), F Mudariki (Mhs)/M Majola (Wvl), C Schoeman (Mhs)/J Martin (Wvl), N Phewa (George Campbell), R Kay (Gwd), K Nell (Clifton), G Murran (Northwood), N Sibiya (GC)/L Booysen (MC), J Koekemoer (MC), T Tobejane (Gwd), L Ndimande (GC), M Peter (Durban HS), T Ndlovu (Ksn), L Snyman (Wvl)

Erasmus XV: T Zuma (MC), K van Vuuren (Gwd), K Tredoux (Gwd), N Vidima (Gwd), D du Preez (Ksn), W Mazibuko (Gwd), J-L du Preez (Ksn), A Schramm (Ksn), M Reece-Edwards (Ksn), T Tedder (Ksn), S Ngcobo (Gwd), A Nela (Gwd), B Ellse (Wvl), L Ngcobo (MC), C Vermaak (Gwd)

Moodley XV: T Visser (Ksn), M Mazwi (MC), J Gumede (MC), J Gouws (Htn), C Kruger (Gwd), J Conradie (MC), M Muller (Gwd), J Coetzee (Gwd), K Khanyile (Gwd), K Webster (DHS), M Joubert (Gwd), T Blewett (Htn), N Ncuma (Gwd), B Arnott (Mhs), K Elder (MC)

Fixtures: 1 pm — Kyle vs Mtshali, 2 pm — Prinsloo vs Blose, 3 pm — Erasmus vs Moodley, 4.30 pm — Possible vs Probables


Bell XV: A Paverelle (Hilton), R Cohen (Glenwood), l Mazibuko (Michaelhouse), C Holland (Northwood), T Dixon (Kearsney), K Thunder (Maritzburg College), B de Massi (Westville), L Commons (MC), B van Heerden (Ladysmith), M Noot (Durban HS), T Mazibuko (DHS), S Pau (Ksn), M Munangi (MC), S Hyatt (Htn), M Kriel (MC)

Snyman XV: M Mtabela (Wvl), D Lee (Wvl), D Horack (Gwd), C Jacobs (Pionier), J Colenbrander (MC), K Sparks (Nwd), K Nicholson (Wvl), M Palvie (Gwd), B Kitching (Wvl), M Nesbit (Ksn), A Vorster (Port Natal, D Rossouw (Gelofte), M Shange (Wvl), W Ndabazita (Wvl), M Couch (Wvl)

Venter XV: B Ntole (Gwd), S Swanepoel (MC), S Stolz (Wvl), M Ntuli (DHS), N Nkanyiso (Htn), D Muller (Wvl), K Smit (Wvl), S Bell (Wvl), C Rattray (MC), M Hand (Gwd), S Mhlamvu (Wvl), D Loftus (Htn), L Furniss (Mhs), N Nzimande (Pinetown), J Morgan (Gwd)

Norris XV: N Mthembu (Nwd), A Febana (DHS), L Moloi (Sarel Cilliers), K Blose (Gwd), J Sesenk Clee (Mhs), E Marx (Htn), N Xaba (Gwd), B Staples (Gwd), M Dahl (Htn), B Pretorius (Mhs), L Thamahane (MC), C Frackers (MC), D du Randt (Gwd), I Mukendi (Gwd), V Foster (Mhs)

Additional players to attend: 1. K Mchunu (Greytown), 3. N Fincham (Nwd), 4. R Jackson (Ksn), 7.S de Marigny (Htn), 8. M Sadiki (Mhs), 9 J du Preez (Gwd), 12. B Dean (Mhs)

Fixtures: 1 pm — Bell vs Snyman, 2.30 pm — Venter vs Norris, 3.30 pm — Possibles vs Probables.

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions. publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.