Mr Price athletes sweep podium at Township 50?km

2010-10-26 00:00

COMRADES gold medallist Bongumusa Mthemba accounted for some top names to win the first Township to Township 50 km race held on Sunday.

Mthembu led a quartet of contenders across the line in three hours three minutes and 36 seconds, with team-mate Professor Mollen just two steps adrift and Comrades champion Stephen Muzhingi missing victory by twelve seconds.

Visiting Mr Price athlete Andries Masoeu filled the bronze position in 3:03:48.

In addition to the clean sweep of the winners podium, the Mr Price club took away the top 35-39 and 40-49 age group awards through Sandile Makhaye and Petros Sosibo in times of 3:06:21, and 3:06:44 respectively.

It was Kerry Koen who spoilt the Mr Price party when she ran a hard, determined race to secure second behind Chiyedza Chokore who took the tape in 3:46:17. The Pietermaritzburg-based Nedbank runner was a mere 60 metres adrift after the gruelling and twisting run from Umlazi through to KwaMashu. Koen had everything to celebrate, however, having finished ahead of the talented Samkeliso Moyo, the winner of many local and international marathons in the region. Moyo had the consolation of taking the 35-39 age group while yet another Mr Price athlete, Sarah Mahlangu topped the 40-49 category.

The event certainly has the potential to become one of the landmark events on future fixture lists.

The annual Hulamin Swift half-marathon, which tours Edendale community, was delivered a double blow this year. First the local police and traffic forced their event to be postponed by a week as they were unable to provide protection to both the Amashova cycle race and the run on the same day, and there was a clash of fixtures with the high prize money of the Township to Township 50 km.

The race was won by Samuel Pazanga, who pulled away from the talented Bluff Meats Formula One youngster Munuya Jari to break the tape in one hour seven minutes 24 seconds. Jari was only 150 metres off the mark with local Boxer athlete Sibonela Duma filling the final podium spot another 300 metres adrift.

Kerry Ann Walton gave value to her trip from Ballito with a clear victory in the women’s race in one hour 21 minutes 37 seconds, which put the Running Inn club atop the podium for the first time.

The experienced Suzette Botha showed she is still in sub three marathon form, despite the tough course, with an 84 minutes 47 second time for second spot and first in the 35-39 age group. Alicen Monake finished almost three minutes later to close the podium positions.

It was host club runners who dominated the Tonevale Game Farm 16 km outside Empangeni.

Simon Mkhonza was the only athlete to break the hour barrier for the tour around the scenic but challenging Game Park perimeter. Mkhonza recorded 59 minutes six seconds almost a kilometre ahead of Canon Richards Bay runner, Muhule Mkhwanzi who was chased into the finish by Siaso Mthiyane. Mthiyane’s one hour two minute time also earned him the award as first 40-49.

Noncebo Mthethwa made it the double for the Umhlathuze club with her 79:58 clocking, which gave her a three minute advantage over Simone Scrase who won the 40-49 category. Mtunzini’s Nicola McMurray was third.

The KwaZulu-Natal race walking team excelled in the SA 50 km Race walk championships held in Oudtshoorn at the weekend.

Themba Quanquso of Tongaat Panthers, a relatively new walker on the block, became the 2010 SA 50 km champion just failing to break the magical five hour barrier for the 25 lap course outside the Defence Force barracks.

Oxley Africa earned bronze, while Abraham Mbhele was fourth and Bonginkosi Nduli finished seventh.

In the women’s race, Yvonne Irmscher of the Umhlathuze club not only walked to a personal best time of five hours 31 minutes and five seconds, but earned the silver medal approximately 12 minutes behind the winner.

Township to Township 50 km — Umlazi to Kwamashu

Open Men:

1.Bongumusa Mthembu MrP 3:03:36, 2.Professor Mollen Mr P 3:03:38, 3.Andrias Masoeu MrP 3:03:48.

35-39: 1.Sandile Makhaye MrP 3:06:21, 2.Justice Nkosi uMqulusi 3:06:33, 3.Edwin Manyokole MrP 3:13:24.

40-49: 1.Petros Sosibo MrP 3:06:44, 2 Reginald Ngobese Gauteng Striders 3:15:24, 3.Enock Ngubane MrP 3:24:28.

50-59: 1.Charles Vilakazi KwaThemba 3:37:49, 2.Jeremiah Ngwenya Boxer 4:03:57, 3.Richard Dlamini Toyota 4:06:46.

60: 1.Petros Shumi Zabalaza 4:26:31, 2 Michael Langa AN 4:23:25, 3.Moses Kunene Toti 5:29:40.


1.Chiyedza Chokore MrP 3:46:17, 2Kerry Koen Ned 3:46:32, 3.Samkeliso Moyo MrP 3:48:21.

35-39: 1.Samkeliso Moyo MrP 3:48:21, 2.Hleziphi Ncayiyana Ned 4:29:01, 3.Phalakazi Mooki Transnet 4:35:15.

40-49: 1.Sarah Mahlangu MrP 4:01:21, 2.Catherine Naane GoldField 4:04:27, 3.Cynthia Mkovane Ned 4:52:50.

50-59: 1.Jane Baker DAC 5:17:27, 2.Pat Freeman Stella 5:32:38.

Hulamin Swift 21km – Camps Drift Pietermaritzburg

Men: 1 Samuel Pazanga Mr P 67:24, 2 Munuya Jari Bluff Meats F1 67:55, 3 Sibonela Duma Boxer 68:48

35to39: Peter Mazuri Bluff Meats F1 71:54

40to49: Rendini Mdau Toyota 89:08

50to59: Sanelle Hulamin 81:12

60+: Moray Calder Howick 1:45:17

Junior: Philani Ncgobo CH 74:16

Women: 1. Kerry Ann Walton Running Inn 81:37, 2. Suzette Botha Escom 84:47, 3. Alicen Monake Bluff 87:43

35 to 39: Suzette Botha Escom 84:47

40 to 49: Janine Engels PDAC 95:02

50 to 59: Sandy Fismer Hilton 98:41

60+: Gill Tregenna West 1:59:14


Men: 1. Simon Mkhonza Umhlathuze 59:06, 2 Muhule Mkhwanzi CRBAC 61:50, 3 Siaso Mthiyane ZAC 62:00

35 to 39: Rusta Sibiya Umhlathuze 67:20

40 to 49: Siaso Mthiyane Z A C 62:00

50 to 59: Louis Fourie CRBAC 79:14

60+: Chris v d Westerhuizen Umhlatuze 88:51

Women: 1 Noncebo Mthethwa Umhlathuze 79:58, 2 Simone Scrase CRBAC 83:09, 3 Nicola Mc Murray Mtunzini 84:57

35 to 39: Angel Cebekhule Ind.1:42:48

40 to 49: Simone Scrase CRBAC 83:09

50 to 59: Glenda Badenhorst Umhlathuze 1:47:31

60+: Lorna Rautenbach Umtinzini 1:48:10

SA 50km Walk Championships:

Women’s 50 km walk:

2. Yvonne Irmscher Umhlathuze 5.31.05, 3. Khethiwe Memela Boxer 5.55.05, 4. Babongile Memela Natal Carbineers 6.02.08, 5. Trish Winterboer Umhlathuze 6.03.23, 6. Anne McKenzie RWFL 6.06.01

Men 50 km walk

1. Themba Quanquso Tongaat Panthers 5.05.55, 3. Oxley Africa Boxer 5.19.35, 4. Abraham Mbhele Eskom 5. 26.22 7. Bonginkosi Nduli Cleremont 6.26.21

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions. publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.