Mudman draws 1 500 entries

2008-03-22 00:00

The previous day’s rain and resultant chilly wind did not dampen spirits and support at the Cordwalles aQuelle Mudman held at Midmar Dam last weekend.

With numbers nearing 1 500, the third event in the aQuelle Mudman Series proved that the series has reached an all-time high in popularity, especially among the school children, for which the series acts as a worthy fundraiser.

There was no shortage of top-level competition either. Iain Don-Wauchope continued his domination of the full distance swim event over a 750-metre swim, 20 km mountain bike race and five kilometre run, taking the win by a slim 37 seconds from Jean-Paul van der Linde in second and Tyronne White third, just eight seconds back.

The women’s race was equally well contested with Jenna Venter (nee Warlock) setting the pace out of the swim and just holding off a strong challenge from Sue Erskine in second with Gillian Curr running through the field to claim third. Team Hattons took the team title.

Team-mates Lance Kime and Andrew Birkett set a blistering pace on the full distance canoe with Kime taking advantage on the run to move into the lead. Birkett placed second with Deon Bruss third. The women’s race was won by Abigail Adie from Wendy White and Hillary Pitchford.

The half distance events started later in the day and the wind made for testing conditions on the water. Leading home the short distance swim event was Kaeghan Gasson after a close battle with Murray Starr who placed second just five seconds back. Nikita Cryer was the first woman home.

Jenna Starr and uncle Gavin Starr were the respective winners of the short course canoe event.

The final event in the aQuelle Mudman Series is hosted by Durban Prep School at Hazelmere Dam on Sunday, April 20. Full race results and details available on


Full Swim (750m swim/20km mtb/5km run): Men: I Don-Wauchope 1h17.25, JP van der Linde 1h18.02, T White 1h18.10. Women: J Venter 1h31.47, S Erskine 1h32.34, G Curr 1h36.20. Teams: Hattons 1h18.25, MHS Extreme 1h22.06, Born Winners 1h31.55.

Full Canoe (4km canoe/20km mtb/5km run): Men: L Kime 1h29.27, A Birkett 1h30.05, D Bruss 1h37.14. Women: A Adie 1h44.42, W White 1h48.13, H Pitchford 1h56.53. Team: Starsky’s 1h35.59.

Short Swim (400m swim/10km mtb/2.5km run): Men: K Gasson 48.35, M Starr 48.40, D Krone 49.56. Women: N Cryer 57.34, N Bold 58.06, G Wyer 58.10. Team: Hilton 47.49.

Short Canoe (2km canoe/10km mtb/5km run): Men: G Starr 46.21, M Purnell 51.15, S Jarrett 55.15. Women: J Starr 57.08, S Colvin 58.53, T Brill 1h00.37. Team: Xtreme 1h04.26


Jowetts Cycles is hosting the Subaru MTB Super Classic next Sunday from Cedara Agricultural College. The race will start and end at the Cedara College Sports Centre, easily accessed from the N3 at the Cedara off-ramp approximately 12 km north of Pietermaritzburg.

The venue is about four hours from Gauteng and one hour from Durban by car. There are category prizes in the 45 km event, male/female position prizes in the 25 km intermediate event and boy/girl position prizes in the 13 km event to under-12 years only.

Total prize money amounts to R5 500. For entry inquiries contact Ingrid on 033 394 1421 or race inquiries Chris on 082 566 5258.

Entries are now open for the Mr Price Karkloof Classic, KZN’s biggest MTB Festival. Riders should note that entries are limited for 2008 so make sure you get your entry in early.

All details can be viewed at and manual entries can also be downloaded via the site or collected at your closest bike store.


A reminder to all cyclists that the Belgotex, Mercury Cycle Classic, scheduled to take place tomorrow, has been postponed until the weekend of April 19 and 20. The 2008 event is once again an Amashova Seeding event, so make sure you get your preferred seeding for the annual PMB to Durban Classic.

The start and finish venue will be at the safe, secure and very easily accessible PMB Varsity Rugby Stadium in Booysens Park and off Washington Road. Online entries will be available at

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions. publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.