Muir opts for brawn

2008-05-08 00:00

CHUNKY centre Adrian Jacobs and veteran Springbok lock Johan Ackermann have been named in the Sharks’ starting line-up for tomorrow afternoon’s decisive Super 14 clash against the Cheetahs at King’s Park.

Jacobs, regarded by coach Dick Muir as an invaluable impact player, has spent the Super 14 playing off the bench, but his consistent form is now rewarded with his first start of the season.

Muir will field a new midfield pairing, with Francois Steyn at inside centre to partner Jacobs.

The familiar Sharks midfield pair of Brad Barritt, who returns from injury after missing the last two games, and Waylon Murray are on the bench.

Ackermann, who had been put out to graze by the Sharks at the beginning of March, has been urgently recalled from retirement, and the 38-year-old lock will start in place of the injured Sharks captain Johann Muller.

AJ Venter, selected on the flank, takes over the captaincy.

Also returning from injury is Springbok Bismarck du Plessis, who takes over from Craig Burden, while lock Steven Sykes, over the ankle injury which cut short his overseas tour, is on the bench.

Muir is clearly expecting a tough forward struggle and the inclusion of Ackermann, Venter — instead of Keegan Daniel — and Du Plessis adds a hard edge to the Sharks pack. The Sharks coach has also named five forwards and two backs on the bench.

Cheetahs coach Naka Drotske has retained the entire 22-man squad that lost against the Highlanders last Friday night.

The Cheetahs pack contains two World Cup Springboks in captain Juan Smith and prop CJ van der Linde, and looks particularly well-equipped.

Certainly, their position close to the foot of the log is misleading and Muir, with every reason, regards them as a massive challenge.

The match kicks off at 3 pm tomorrow and the Sharks need to win with a bonus point to stay in the hunt for a semi-final berth.



Stefan Terblanche, Odwa Ndungane, Adrian Jacobs, Francois Steyn, JP Pietersen, Ruan Pienaar, Rory Kockott, Ryan Kankowski, AJ Venter (c), Jacques Botes, Johan Ackermann, Albert van den Berg, BJ Botha, Bismarck du Plessis, Tendai Mtawarira.

Replacements: Craig Burden, Jannie du Plessis, Steven Sykes, Jean Deysel, Keegan Daniel, Bradley Barritt, Waylon Murray.


Hennie Daniller, Eddie Fredericks, JW Jonker, Meyer Bosman, Jongi Nokwe, Conrad Barnard, Falie Oelschig, Duanne Vermeulen, Juan Smith (c), Heinrich Brussow, Barend Pieterse, Rory Duncan, CJ van der Linde, Adriaan Strauss, Wian du Preez.

Replacements: Richardt Strauss, Bees Roux, David de Villiers, Hendro Scholtz, Tewis de Bruyn, Bevin Fortuin, Hendrik Meyer.

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions. publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.