New man at district

2008-04-25 00:00

A major reshuffle of the uMgungundlovu district saw the council nominating new members of the executive committee and a new mayor and deputy mayor at a dramatic full council meeting yesterday.

A high-powered delegation of the ANC provincial executive committee — deputy chair Zweli Mkhize, secretary-general Senzo Mchunu and treasurer Mbuso Kubheka were present, as was regional chair Shakes Cele, to oversee the reshuffle.

Outgoing mayor Bongi Sithole was unanimously voted out after a motion of no confidence, while Yusuf Bhamjee was elected mayor, with councillor Tu Zondi as his deputy.

The meeting started with an announcement of the resignation of deputy mayor Aubrey Lukhele and the reassignment of district chief whip Vusi Ntshangase and Mzi Thebolla to the Msunduzi Municipality.

DA executive member Rodger Ashe has also resigned and will be replaced by councillor Sizwe Mchunu. It is still to be decided by the DA caucus who will replace Ashe at exco.

Councillors Lungile Chiya and Nkosi Dlamini resigned with immediate effect. Lukhele will retain a seat on the council as ANC chief whip. He will be taking up position as the regional secretary of the ANC.

When no mention was made of the long rumoured resignation of Sithole, the ANC called a 20-minute caucus. On their return, the motion of no confidence in the leadership of Sithole was made by councillor Vusi Ntshangase. The motion was unanimously supported by 36 councillors. Sources say Sithole was asked to resign by the ANC, but refused, leaving the ANC no choice but to remove her the hard way.

Sithole had no comment on the motion, but said: "I am thankful that I had a chance to work with this council. May God bless you."

Incoming Mayor Bhamjee thanked the councillors and the ANC caucus for their confidence in him. "I look forward to working with you all to make this municipality one that the people can be proud of."

The DA and IFP welcomed the appointments of the mayor and deputy mayor and congratulated them both. "We hope we will work well together and reach the goals of service delivery we set out to achieve in 2006, change is never easy, but we hope that this municipality will be transformed for the better," said Ntokozo Bhengu of the IFP.

The new district exco members are Bhamjee (chair), Theresa Zondi, Thobani Zuma and Rosemary Zungu.

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions. publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.