New personal best for Coolboy Ngamole at the Valencia Marathon

2011-12-07 00:00

COOLBOY Ngamole, the runner-up at the South African Championships in George, set a new personal best of 2:10:43 when he finished sixth in the Valencia Marathon on November 27.

This is the second fastest time by a South African in 2011 and puts him into the frame for selection for the Olympic Marathon in London next July.

Coolboy’s time of 2:29:00 in George is an indication of the importance for South Africans to compete in higher levels of competition overseas.

The first leg of the Yellow Pages Summer Series will take place tomorrow from 3 pm in Port Elizabeth at Westbourne Oval.

After Port Elizabeth the Yellow Pages Summer Series will move to Oudtshoorn (Monday, December 12), Stellenbosch (Thursday, December 15) and Parow, Western Cape (Saturday, December 17).

Thabulethu Phaku and Professor Mollen diced their way around the tough challenging BGM Yellowwood Park 15 km with Phaku eventually the proud winner of the Stainbank Cup by a shoulder in 50:03.

Trees shaded much of the route, making the task easier as Mollen and Phaku pulled away, leaving Sifuninkosi Ngqoyingile to fill the third place in 52:05.

Although there were no Stella runners on the podium, the club were the winners of the team prize.

Jenna Challenor had it all her own way in the women’s race and just failed to break the hour for the 15 km by three seconds.

Challenor’s club colleague from Boxer, Janine Carey, was second over three minutes down, with Grace de Oliveira giving the club a clean sweep of the podium and assuring them of the team prize.

De Oliveira also won the 50-59 age group in an impressive time of 1:07:07, while Carey cleaned up the 35-39 age category.

De Oliveira, who turned 50 a few months ago, arguably had the performance of the day, with her time making her the fastest South African in this age group over the 15 km distance this year.

This was the 17th time the race has been under the Bearing Man Group sponsorship, which saw over 800 runners finish faster than the two-and-a-half hour cut-off time.

Many post-race discussions focused on the high standard of organisation in what has become a traditional event for the final month of the year.

Nedbank’s Bernard Phalatsane scored a runaway victory in the Spares Shop Heatonville 19 km that took place from Addison Park in Empangini and followed the main route out of the town before turning on the scenic but long ascent up to the farmers’ club hall.

Phalatsane, who crossed the line in 1:09:30, outran Nkosinathi Zungu from Mtubatuba who was second over 600 metres adrift with Mfanafuthi Ngubane in third a further 300 metres off the pace in 1:12:20.

The Nedbank man added the 35-39 age group prize to his overall win.

Melanie van Rooyen looks set to end the year in the way she began — the total domination of the women’s race — taking 1:26:51 to cover the A to B route with the host club’s Namcebo Mthethwa the runner-up over eight minutes off the pace.

Simone Scrase of Canon Richards Bay completed the podium and took the 40-49 age category award in 1:39:22.

Sunday sees the annual Illovo Sugar 15 km Christmas Challenge in Westville, which starts from the Maryvale Road Clubhouse at 6 am.

There are the usual cash prizes for the faster runners, but the mountainous route combined with the normally high temperatures and the holiday spirit, sees this event as more of a social outing than a race.

The greatest competition is for the London Bus floating trophy awarded to the club who parade together in the best fancy dress theme.

Although judged subjectively, local clubs put considerable innovation into this competition.

For the speedsters there is a “minibus competition” which goes to the club that can get 10 members to finish within 30 seconds of each other.

The race regularly attracts a very large field with the first 1 800 finishers assured of a T-shirt.

There are also lucky dip and spot prizes handed out at the finish. The event is open to runners and walkers with a two-and-a-half-hour cut-off time.

Entries will be taken at the clubhouse on Saturday from 10 am to 4 pm and on race morning from 5 am.

Online entries are available at, but close at midnight tomorrow.

Spares Shop Heatonville 19 km


1.Bernard Phalatsane Nedbank AC 1:09:30,

2.Nkosinathi Zungu Mtubatuba AC 1:11:39,

3.Mfanafuthi Ngubane UAC 1:12:20

40 to 49: 1.Mbonbiseni J’yane UAC 1:21:30

50 to 59: 1.Nkosi ZunguUAC1:31:07


1.Melanie v Rooyen R/Bay A C 1:26:51

2.Nomcebo MthethwaUAC1:35:37

3.Simone ScraseR/Bay A C1:39:22

35 to 39: 1.Nonhlanhla Dludla UAC 2:19:44

40 to 49: 1.Simone Scrase R/Bay AC 1:39:22

50 to 59: 1.Debbie MannixMtunzini AC 1:55:02

60+: 1.Linda VivianUAC2:12:43

The BMG Yellowood Park Stainbank Cup 15 km


1.Thabaletu Phaku DUT 50:03

2.Proff Mollen Mr Price AC 50:04

3.Sifuninkosi Ngqoyingile CorrServ 52:05

35 to 39: 1.Nkosinathi NgcongoStella AC 55:21, 2.Sabelo NcubePhumanathi

AC 58:54, 3.Nkosi Nonkeletsha Nedbank AC 59:46

40 to 49: 1.Peter Sehloho Boxer AC 55:24, 2.Willie Majombozi Boxer AC 58:17, 3.Brendon Meyer Chiltern AC 61:42

50 to 59: 1.Mandla Dlamike Boxer AC 59:16, 2.Eloi De Oliviera Boxer AC 61:35, 3.Jan Koegelenberg Mr Price AC 62:22

60+: 1.Mbekiseni Mchunu Savages AC 71:53, 2.Rob Edward Betsy YWP AC 74:36

70+: 1.Fred Medlock HV 88:37


1.Cade Pillay Woodview AC 73:41

Team Prize: Stella AC

Ladies: 1.Jenna Challenor Boxer AC 60:03, 2.Janine Carey Boxer AC 63:18

3.Grace De Oliviera Boxer AC 67:07

35 to 39: 1.Janine Carey Boxer AC 63:18, 2.Wendy Morgan Chiltern AC 67:40

3.Lauren Calenborne West AC 70:08

40 to 49: 1.Jeanette Davidson DHSOB 69:12, 2.Jenny Sutton YWP AC 72:08

3.Maureen Slack Riverside Harr 73:24

50 to 59: 1.Grace De Oliviera Boxer AC 67:07, 2.Blanche Moila Savages AC 78:08, 3.Lindsay Watkeys West AC 79:56

60+: 1.Gill Tregenna West AC 91:01, 2.Brenda Hughes Sydenham AC 99:05

3.Patsy Clemens HV 101:27

Junior: 1.Kate Kirkwood Escom Gijimas 118:11

Walk Men 15 km:

1.Prof Cele Bidvest AC 1:22:58

Walk Ladies 15 km:

1.Sylvia Law Stella AC 1:51:44

Team Prize: Boxer AC

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions. publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.