Nine barely noticeable changes for Sharks

2008-09-18 00:00

YOU would hardly notice it — considering all the Springboks dotted around — but John Plumtree has made nine changes, three of them positional, to his Sharks team for tomorrow’s Currie Cup clash against the Falcons in Kempton Park.

The depth and versatility in the Sharks squad has allowed Plumtree to rest half-a-dozen players and still field a powerful starting line-up with eight Springboks and three more internationals on the bench.

Missing from the team that started against the Free State Cheetahs in Durban last Saturday evening are Stefan Terblanche, the injured Odwa Ndungane, Frederic Michalak, Jacques Botes and the Du Plessis brothers, Bismarck and Jannie.

Plumtree has shuffled his resources in the backline and at loose forward.

Waylon Murray switches to the wing from centre and Springbok Adrian Jacobs is back in the midfield. Ruan Pienaar moves from scrumhalf to flyhalf with Michalak playing off the bench and Rory Kockott, in need of match practice after an extended injury break, starting at No. 9.

Monty Dumond, who has performed consistently well as back-up at flyhalf for the Sharks over the past two seasons, takes over from Terblanche at fullback.

Springbok Ryan Kankowski, another in need of game time, is at number eight with Keegan Daniel moving to the flank in place of Botes. Skipper Badenhorst and Patric Cilliers take over from the Du Plessis brothers in the front row.

Craig Burden, Bradley Barritt and Chris Jordaan are all included on a lively and talented bench.

Falcons coach Rudy Joubert, for entirely different reasons, has made a host of changes to his struggling team, calling up a number of players from outside the province.

U21 Tukkie centre Franco Booysen and flyhalf John Roodt have been rushed into a new-look team.

Loose forwards Thabo Mamojele (Sharks) and Gert Lubbe (Tukkies) will also make their Currie Cup debuts with flank Uwe Sauer returning after injury.

The match kicks off at 3 pm and television coverage is on SuperSport 7.


Sharks: Monty Dumond, Waylon Murray, Adrian Jacobs, Francois Steyn, JP Pietersen, Ruan Pienaar, Rory Kockott, Ryan Kankowski, Jean Deysel, Keegan Daniel, Johann Muller (captain), Steven Sykes, Deon Carstens, Skipper Badenhorst, Patric Cilliers. Replacements: Craig Burden, Jannie du Plessis, Albert van den Berg, Jacques Botes, Frederic Michalak, Bradley Barritt, Chris Jordaan.

Falcons: Johan Jackson, Dewald Pretorius, Rouan Cloete, Hanno Coetzee (captain), Frank Wagenstr-m, John Roodt, Gerrie Odendaal, Thabo Mamojele, Gert Lubbe, Uwe Sauer, Nico Luus, Wouter Moore, Nico Pretorius/Dirk Smit, Jody Jeneker, Zane Killian.

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions. publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.