Odds favour ‘Birdman’ for Best Picture Oscar

2015-01-26 00:00

LOS ANGELES — Birdman has won the Producers Guild of America’s Darryl F. Zanuck Award for best movie — elevating its status as an awards season front-runner since the last seven PGA winners have gone on to win the Best Picture Oscar.

Fox Searchlight’s dark comedy, starring Michael Keaton as a washed-up film star, topped American Sniper, Boyhood, Foxcatcher, Gone Girl, Grand Budapest Hotel, The Imitation Game, Nightcrawler, The Theory of Everything and Whiplash.

Boyhood had been the favourite to win the PGA trophy — based on voting by more than 6 700 PGA members.

The award went to producers Alejandro G. Inarritu, John Lesher and James W. Skotchdopole.

“They want me to talk so that I make you laugh with my bad English,” Inarritu said. “On behalf of all of us, our only ambition was to make a risky and experimental exploration of the cinematic language, of an artist’s complexity played by the incredible Michael Keaton.”

The PGA’s Zanuck award has become a strong indicator of the Oscar for Best Picture in 18 of its 25 years, with 12 Years a Slave, Argo, The Artist, The King’s Speech, The Hurt Locker, Slumdog Millionaire and No Country for Old Men winners in recent years. Life Itself, the biographical film about the late Roger Ebert, won the PGA documentary award for director Steve James, Zak Piper and Garrett Basch. The Lego Movie took the PGA’s top animated movie award, nine days after it was overlooked in the Oscar nominations.

In the TV category, Breaking Bad won the Norman Felton Award for top drama series for the second year in a row, topping Downton Abbey, Game of Thrones, House of Cards and True Detec tive. Fargo won the David L. Wolper Award for long-form TV, beating American Horror Story, The Normal Heart, The Roosevelts: An Intimate History and Sherlock.

Orange is the New Black won the Danny Thomas award for top comedy series, denying Modern Family its fifth consecutive award in the category. It also beat The Big Bang Theory, Louis and Veep.

The Normal Heart received the Stanley Kramer Award, which honours raising awareness of ­important social issues.

Other prizes included: Lionsgate CEO Jon ­Feltheimer receiving the Milestone Award; The Walking Dead producer Gale Ann Hurd received the David O. Selznick Achievement Award; Brad Pitt, Dede Gardner and Jeremy Kleiner’s Plan B Entertainment receiving the Visionary Award ­presented by Norman Lear; and Mark Gordon, producer of Criminal Minds, Grey’s Anatomy and Ray Donovan, receiving the Norman Lear ­Achievement Award in Television.

Join the conversation!

24.com encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions.

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire 24.com network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.