Old foes Rovers, Collegians lock horns for Murray Cup

2013-09-05 00:00

THE 2013 Castle Murray Cup final will see old foes College Rovers and Durban Collegians muscle-up in the KZN Rugby Union’s Match of the Day at Riverside Sports Club in Durban North on Saturday.

This marquee match is the key part of the KZNRU Club Rugby Finals Day, which will see 12 teams from across the divisions battle it out for six trophies, many of them decades old and in the case of the Murray Cup, over 100 years old.

Rovers and Collegians had comfortable victories in the semi-finals over surprise package Piet Retief and Zululand Rhinos respectively.

The consistent former Newcastle Falcons English Premier League back Chris Micklewood shared the goalkicking duties with Greg Goosen as Rovers’ 73-0 waltz included touchdowns from man-of-the match Monde Hadebe, Jors Dannhauser (2), Janco Tiedt (2), Kyle Wilkinson, Gavin Scott, Jarrett Crouch and Nick Jackson.

Collegians, missing players, had to work harder for their 39-15 win over 2008 champions Zululand Rhinos, their five tries scored by Francois Kleinhans, Werner Botha (2), Dean Box and Douglas Warden, while Jacques Venter added the extras. Rhinos’ man-of-the match Thokozani Mdlili scored two fine tries with the kicks going to Dirk de Waal.

While both Rovers and Collegians blew hot and cold in the semi-finals, they will almost certainly raise their game for Saturday’s 3.30 pm trophy match.

The Peter Taylor Trophy final for Fidelity Security Premier Division second XVs will see the season’s two strongest sides, Rovers II and Varsity College II, gunning for the title.

Both had easy runs in the semi-finals, beating the two Zululand teams, Pongola and the Rhinos, by big margins.


Murray Cup: College Rovers 73 Piet Retief 0; Durban Collegians 39 Zululand Rhinos 15.

Peter Taylor Trophy: Rovers II 73 Pongola 6; Varsity College 73 Zululand Rhinos 0.

Junior Murray Cup: PMB Collegians 22 Hillcrest 10; Vryheid 29 Newcastle Highlanders 24.

Keith Parkinson Cup: Sentraal 24 Newcastle Highlanders II 19; PMB Collegians 19 II Hillcrest II 10.

Findlay Cup: Drakensburg 39 Eshowe 16.


(All at Riverside Sports Club, Durban North

Castle Murray Cup: Durban Collegians vs College Rovers 3.30 pm

Junior Murray Cup: PMB Collegians vs Vryheid 1.30 pm

Peter Taylor Trophy: Varsity College II vs Rovers II 12 pm

Keith Parkinson Cup: PMB Collegians II vs Sentraal 10.45 am

Findlay Cup: Pinetown vs Drakensberg 1.45 pm

Ashley Bowls Cup: Amabubeshi U19 vs Clermont U19 12.15 pm.

Join the conversation!

24.com encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions.

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire 24.com network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.