Pollard to lead SA against England

2012-08-18 00:00

CAPE TOWN — Flyhalf Handré Pollard will captain the SA Schools team in their final U18 International Series match against England at the UWC Sports Stadium today. Kick-off is at 12.45 pm.

Pollard, a 2012 IRB Junior World Championship winner with the Junior Springboks, takes over the leadership duties from Affies prop Pierre Schoeman.

After shuffling the team with numerous changes for their previous outing in George against Wales, the national selectors have chosen what is arguably the strongest line-up for the clash against England.

A surprise selection choice in the SA Schools line-up is that of Outeniqua High fullback Warrick Gelant as midfield-partner for the strong running Waterkloof inside centre Rohan Janse van Rensburg. Gelant caught the eye with some enterprising play against Wales and his pairing with Janse van Rensburg adds extra attacking power to an already exciting backline. With Gelant now in the number-13 jersey, it means a return to the fullback position for Jesse Krie­l of Maritzburg College.

Pollard came on as a first half substitute against Wales and his introduction changed the course of the game. The SA schoolboys will be aiming for their third win after victories over France and Wales.

The English boys, however, will be looking to finish their tour on a positive note after their surprise defeat against France at Outeniqua Park. France and Wales will get the day’s action under way at 11 am.

The SA Schools team:

15. Jesse Kriel (Maritzburg College)

14. Sergeal Petersen (Grey PE)

13. Warrick Gelant (Outeniqua)

12. Rohan Janse van Rensburg


11. Duhan van der Merwe (Outeniqua)

10. Handre Pollard (Paarl Gym, captain)

9. Justin Phillips (Waterkloof)

8. Aidon Davis (HTS Daniël Pienaar)

7. Jean-Luc du Preez (Kearsney College)

6. Thabo Mabuza (Centurion)

5. Nicholas Janse van Rensburg

(Affies, vice-captain)

4. John-Dave Schickerling (Paarl Gym)

3. Dayan van der Westhuizen (Centurion)

2. Malcolm Marx (King Edward)

1. Ox Nche (Louis Botha)


16. Chad Solomon (Paul Roos)

17. Pierre Schoeman (Affies)

18. Wilco Louw (HTS Drostdy)

19. Gideon Koegelenberg (Hugenote)

20. Akhona Sihunu (Dale College)

21. Ryno Eksteen (Affies)

22. Sandile Kubeka (Kearsney College)

23. Jano Venter (HTS Middelburg)

Join the conversation!

24.com encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions.

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire 24.com network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.