Rory Kockott named ahead of Ruan Pienaar for Brumbies clash

2008-04-16 00:00

Sharks scrumhalf Rory Kockott has been named to start at scrumhalf ahead of Springbok Ruan Pienaar for the Sharks’ Super 14 match against the Brumbies on Saturday in Canberra

Coach Dick Muir said that while it was a case of rotation in selection, it was also “an opportunity for Rory”.

“Ruan has had three starts in a row and we are also looking at possibly using Ruan at flyhalf off the bench at some stage.”

Muir defended the selection of Francois Steyn at outside centre and said he was not to be blamed for the two tries that were leaked against the Highlanders.

“I think it was a combination between Waylon and Frans, a defensive error that wasn’t only Frans’s fault. Waylon was ahead of him and this caused the defensive line to be breached.”

Muir also confirmed that Steyn wants to play in the midfield.

“He is enjoying playing there and that’s where is happiest. Decision-making is a key element and I think he’s shown that either at 12 or 13 his decision-making is really good.”

Waylon Murray has been replaced by JP Pietersen on the wing after being given a wake-up call last week. With Steyn at centre, Waylon Murray, who was on the wing, loses out and drops to the bench.

Jannie du Plessis is waiting on a fitness test and is bracketed on the bench with Deon Carstens

With cooler conditions predicted for the Sharks match on Saturday, the Sharks are hoping to change their tactical approach.

The start in Durban in hot and humid conditions required a conservative game plan, but in cooler conditons and with a dry ball, the Sharks are hoping to run more with the ball.

“We’ve played according to the conditions and that’s worked for us,” said Muir, “and the backs showed signs of what they are capable of this past weekend.”

The Sharks have been encouraged by the prediction of good weather in Canberra (kick-off time is 11.40 am SA time) as they look to play an expansive game.

There were fitness concerns over captain and lock Johann Muller and flank Keegan Daniel, but both have been included i the starting line-up.

Sharks team: 15. Stefan Terblanche 14. Odwa Ndungane 13. Francois Steyn 12. Bradley Barritt 11. JP Pietersen 10. Frederic Michalak 9. Rory Kockott 8. Ryan Kankowski 7. Jacques Botes 6. Keegan Daniel 5. Johann Muller (captain) 4. Steven Sykes 3. BJ Botha 2. Bismarck du Plessis 1. Tendai “Beast” Mtawarira.

Replacements: 16. Craig Burden 17. Jannie du Plessis/Deon Carstens 18. Albert van den Berg 19. AJ Venter 20. Ruan Pienaar 21. Waylon Murray 22. Adrian Jacobs.

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions. publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.