Rugby: Sharks coach Plumtree adds bulk to backrow

2011-09-02 00:00

SHARKS coach John Plumtree has added bulk to his backrow and replaced the injured number eight Ryan Kankowski with burly flank Jean Deysel for tomorrow evening’s Currie Cup game against the Blue Bulls at Loftus in Pretoria.

Kankowski is nursing a fractured thumb and will be sidelined for four weeks.

Deysel replaced Kankowski in the second half against the Lions and made an immediate impact.

The return of Deysel from Springbok duty could not have been better timed for coach John Plumtree, and the big flank links up with the hard-working and physical young Marcell Coetzee and captain Keegan Daniel in a strong backrow.

Daniel twisted an ankle at practice on Tuesday, but he was yesterday passed fit to play at Loftus.

Another returning Springbok, lock Alistair Hargreaves, has recovered from bronchitis and has been named on the bench.

Plumtree has made two changes to the pack with Eugene van Staden rotating with Wiehahn Herbst at tighthead while Jandre Marais takes over from Anton Bresler at lock.

The Sharks coach has again opted for a 5:2 split on the bench with the versatile Adi Jacobs and Conrad Hoffman covering the backline.

Unusually, Plumtree has named two specialist locks (Hargreaves and Bresler) among the five forward replacements.

The second-rowers are joined by flank Jacques Botes, hooker Kyle Cooper and prop Herbst.

Plumtree has not tampered with the backs, but he is looking for them to fire as a unit and become more of an attacking force.

The match kicks off at 5.05 pm tomorrow and Mark Lawrence is the referee.


Sharks: 15 Louis Ludik, 14 Sibusiso Sithole, 13 Stefan Terblanche, 12 Meyer Bosman, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Frederic Michalak, 9 Charl McLeod, 8 Jean Deysel, 7 Marcell Coetzee, 6 Keegan Daniel (captain), 5 Ross Skeate, 4 Jandre Marais, 3 Eugene van Staden, 2 Craig Burden, 1 Dale Chadwick

Replacements: 16 Kyle Cooper, 17 Wiehahn Herbst, 18 Anton Bresler, 19 Alistair Hargreaves, 20 Jacques Botes, 21 Conrad Hoffmann, 22 Adrian Jacobs

Blue Bulls: 15 Jurgen Visser, 14 Akona Ndungane, 13 Zane Kirchner, 12 Wynand Olivier, 11 Bjorn Basson, 10 Louis Fouch, 9 Jano Vermaak, 8 CJ Stander, 7 Dewald Potgieter, 6 Warwick Tecklenburg, 5 Juandre Kruger, 4 Flip van der Merwe, 3 Werner Kruger, 2 Gary Botha (captain), 1 Dean Greyling

Replacements: 16 Willie Wepener, 17 Rossouw de Klerk, 18 Gerrit-Jan van Velze, 19 Arno Botha, 20 Dustin Jinka, 21 Francois Brummer, 22 Francois Venter

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions. publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.