Rugby: Zonal Trials

2011-05-06 00:00

THE first two zonal rugby trials of the five zones in the province took place this week.

The Pietermaritzburg schools had trials at Maritzburg College on Tuesday and the Midlands schools trials were held at Hilton on Wednesday. Both U18 and U16 teams were selected.

Next week the trials in Northern KZN, South Durban and North Durban will be held. On May 17 the main trial where the zonal teams will face one another, takes place at Woodburn Stadium in Pietermaritzburg. From there a possible and probable group will be selected in each age group before the final Craven Week and Grant Khomo sides are selected.

Maritzburg College dominate the Maritzburg U18 team with 16 players, with just one from St Charles selected. In the U16 group there are eight from College, five from Voortrekker and one each from St Charles and Carter.

The weakness at U18 level of Hilton and Michaelhouse is shown with five Hilton players and just three from Michaelhouse.

Two others come from each of Weston and Greytown, with one each from Wartburg, Howick and Treverton. Hilton has the majority at U16 with 11 players. There are again just three from Michaelhouse with one player from Greytown.

All players are named from number one to 15.


PMB U18: B Landsberg (Maritzburg College), J Rea (St Charles)/M Muller (MC), M Khumalo (MC), R Odendaal (MC)/M du Plessis (MC), M Dickens (MC), A Smith (MC), B Malherbe (MC), R Smith (MC), S Ungerer (MC), J Kriel (MC), Z Makiwane (MC), M Phillips (MC), D Kriel (MC), L Sithole (MC), C Olley (MC)

PMB U16: D Muller (Voortrekker), V Khatide (MC), R Zondi (MC), M Terrblanche (V), R Wiesner (MC), N Manyoni (Carter), C Channing (MC), J Conradie (MC), D Bezuidenhout (V), M de Klerk (V), D Mashoko (StC), C Mantle (MC), M Coetzee (MC), G Geach (MC), M Shawe (V).

Midlands U18: T Corfield (Treverton), S Mabaso (Weston), Y Ntuli (Howick), M Burman (Hilton College), A Becker (Michaelhouse), C de Beer (HC), C Eggers (Wartburg), T Mongalo (HC), T Albertse (Mhs), A Lockington (MHS), B Yenzela (W), E Dunne (Greytown), R Bartlett (HC), F Gumede (GTN), C Smith (HC)

Midlands U16: A Lee (HC), D Russell (HC), P Lee (HC), C Peel (HC), C Schoeman (Mhs), C Taylor (HC), X Zondi (GTN), B Dickeson (HC), A Rayner (HC), S Purdon (HC), J Richmond (HC), B Knott (HC), B Forrester-Smith (MHS), B Arnott (MHS), M Gunn (HC).

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions. publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.