Rugby fans invited to vote

2013-11-13 00:00

CAPE TOWN — Rugby fans can start voting for their own International Player of the Year and World XV of the Year following the release of a 45-strong shortlist of contenders.

Part of the inaugural Ultimate Rugby IRPA Awards, the Fans’ Player of the Year and World XV of the Year will be decided by votes cast on Ultimate Rugby’s mobile app, and announced in conjunction with other category winners on November 26.

For their World XV of the Year award, fans will be asked to pick one of the three nominated finalists in each of the 15 playing positions; for the Player of the Year they’ll be invited to choose just one name from the shortlist.

Anyone can vote as a fan: rugby enthusiasts, players, officials — even referees.

All they need to do is go to, download the mobile app and follow the voting instructions contained within.

The 45-man shortlist, prepared by a panel of IRPA recently retired international players, features players from 11 nations.

World ranked No 1 New Zealand has the most entries with 14 players, followed by Wales (8), South Africa (5), France (4), Argentina (3), Samoa (3), Australia (3), Ireland (2), England (1), Italy (1) and Fiji (1).

The shortlist for the Fans’ Player and World XV of the Year awards (in order of playing position) is:

1. Vincent Debaty (Fra), Alex Corbiseiro (Eng), Marcos Ayerza (Arg)

2. Bismarck du Plessis (SA), Benjamin Kayser (Fra), Richard Hibbard (Wales)

3. Juan Figallo (Arg), Adam Jones (Wales), Census Johnston (Samoa)

4. Sam Whitelock (NZ), Eben Eztebeth (SA), Joe Tekori (Samoa)

5. James Horwill (Aus), Brodie Retallick (NZ), Alun Wyn Jones (Wales)

6. Juan Martin Fernandez Lobbe (Arg), Louis Picomoles (Fra), Liam Messam (NZ)

7. Sean O’Brien (Ire), Richie McCaw (NZ), Francois Louw (SA)

8. Kieran Read (NZ), Sergio Parisse (Italy), Toby Faletau (Wales)

9. Kahn Fotuali’l (Samoa), Aaron Smith (NZ), Will Genia (Aus),

10. Dan Carter (NZ), Johnny Sexton (Ire), Aaron Cruden (NZ)

11. George North (Wales), Julian Savea (NZ), Sitiveni Sivivatu (NZ)

12. Jamie Roberts (Wales), Ma’a Nonu (NZ), Jean de Villiers (SA)

13. Wesley Fofana (Fra), Jonathan Davies (Wales), Conrad Smith (NZ)

14. Israel Folau (Aus), Ben Smith (NZ), Napolioni Nalaga (Fiji)

15. Willie le Roux (SA), Leigh Halfpenny (Wales) Israel Dagg (NZ)

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions. publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.