Rugby talent ID festival draws 300 players and three new teams

2012-09-04 00:00

THE 17th annual Talent ID Festival was hosted by the Durban Development Committee at Glenwood High School at the weekend.

In each of the five rugby sub-unions (Durban, Midlands, Zululand, Northern KZN and Southern KZN), 20 players were selected to represent each region in the U12, U15 and U17 age groups.

About 300 players attended the festival, with 45 coaches and managers.

Three visiting teams — U12 and U15 from Alfred Nzo District (Matatiele, and Mt Frere) and Ithembelihle (New Brighton, Port Elizabeth) — also joined the festival.

This festival identifies the best available talent from previously disadvantaged communities to prepare them for Craven Week, Academy U18 Week and Grant Khomo trials next year.

Scouts to select the provincial squads of 30 players in each age group were provided by Glenwood Prep, Westville Senior Primary, Richardia, Glenwood High School, Westville High School, Northwood, George Campbell, Clifton and development.

Other schools represented at the festival, but not officially part of it, were Kearsney College and Maritzburg College. Some of the boys selected may be offered bursaries or scholarships to these schools.

The success of the ID festival is evident in the 23 high school players who came through the development process and have been selected for various KZN Schools’ teams this year.

There were five players in the U18 Craven Week Team, including Sandile Khubeka, who went on to represent SA Schools.

Of the 12 primary school players who took part in last years’ Talent ID Festival, five were selected on the U13 Craven week Team.

The stand-out teams/players this year were:

U12: Best Forward – Nthuthuko Shozi (Durban)

Best Back – Siyanda Mhlongo (Northern KZN)

Team of the Festival – Durban

U15: Best Forward – Mzamo Mngadi (Durban)

Best Back – Zamani Mngadi (Durban)

Team of the Festival – Durban

U17: Best Forward – Nthokozo Vidima (Durban)

Best Back – Akhona Tshobo (Ithembelihle)

Team of the Festival – Ithembelihle

The Provincial squads selected are:

U12 – Nthuthuko Shozi (Durban), Siyanda Mhlongo (Northern KZN), Mfundo Zwane (Durban), Msawenkosi Nzama (Durban), Sandile Nxumalo (Durban), Andile Nzuza (Durban), Thabiso Zondi (Midlands), Michael Engelbrecht (Zululand), Mnqobi Mkhize (Durban), Sifiso Ngcobo (Durban), Mkhuselwa Zuma (Northern KZN), Minenhle Masimula (Northern KZN), Lwazi Shozi (Durban), Neo Mseleku (Durban), Ayanda Nxumalo (Zululand), Khethukuthula Ntombela (Zululand), Sanele Miya (Northern KZN), Kwezi Bekwa (Durban), Nduli Kwela (Durban), Muzi Sibeko (Durban), Celimpilo Gumede (Zululand), Anslin Van Wyk (Southern KZN), Sthandile Shelembe (Midlands), Lindela Mqadi (Southern KZN), Sibongakonke Zwane (Northern KZN), Thabiso Manamathelo (Northern KZN), Simphiwe Makhoba (Northern KZN), Sibonelo Mbhele (Northern KZN), Dicanio Gouws (Southern KZN) and Samkelo Ntombela (Midlands).

U15: Sabelo Nguzane (Durban), Wesley Gumede (Durban), Mondli Ngubane (Durban), Melusi Ndaba (Midlands), Sicelo Radebe (Northern KZN), Andile Mdlalose (Durban), Sabelo Jiyane (Midlands), Mzamo Mngadi (Durban), Siphesihle Sibisi (Northern KZN), Thabani Ngema (Northern KZN), Ayanda Hlabangeni (Midlands), Lungelo Radebe (Durban), Zama Mngadi (Durban), Lindani Shozi (Durban), Kwanele Magwaza (Midlands), Mzomuhle Ncanana (Durban), Wandile Ngobese (Northern KZN), Lindelani Madlala (Southern KZN), Luthando Mhlanga (Zululand), Simphiwe Manyoni (Northern KZN), Mthokozisi Mngadi (Midlands), Thamsanqa Mvelo (Durban), Musa Ntuli (Zululand), Lethu Xulu (Zululand), Lindokuhle Sikhakhane (Midlands), Kirsten Wood (Midlands), Siphamandla Shezi (Southern KZN), Andile Shabangu (Southern KZN), Mluleki Dlamini (Southern KZN) and Sbonelo Dlolo (Durban).

U17: Sabelo Mbatha (Durban), Sithembele Dhladhla (Northern KZN), Mfundo Mpulo (Durban), Siphamandla Duma (Durban), Siphesihle Mtungwa (Midlands), Mbongeni Mkhize (Midlands), Nthokozo Vidima (Durban), Mpilwenhle Mthembu (Zululand), Ngcebo Zulu (Durban), Thamsanqa Mamba (Durban), Nakekela Gumede (Durban), Sizwe Ndlovu (Northern KZN), Sanele Nzunza (Durban), Bernito Mthungwa (Zululand), Pusaletso Mosiea (Durban), Nquebeko Sangweni (Zululand), Khayelihle Biyase (Durban), Liam Pitout (Midlands), Siyanda Nxele (Durban), Hlasani Ndwandwe (Midlands), Qiniso Mkhize (Durban), Petros Mofokeng (Midlands), Tevin De Kock (Durban), Sindile Makhathini (Zululand), Sicelo Khoza (Northern KZN), Fundile Mhlongo (Durban), Siyathaba Sokhela (Southern KZN), Silondokuhle Mbatha (Zululand), Sifundo Phakathi (Southern KZN) and Dumisani Tshabalala (Northern KZN).

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions. publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.