Runners’ times a lot slower than in the 1980s

2011-02-15 00:00

THE Bluff Meats Formula One racing club was dominant in the Nimas Hillcrest Marathon, where Robson Chigara won in two hours, 28 minutes and 15 seconds.

Chigara spent much of the two-lap event with team-mate Samson Tenai, but opened a 90-metre lead when he powered on to the Hillcrest sportsfield

Mr Price’s Herbert Chokera tried to close the gap on the downhill at the start of the second lap, but lost what he had gained in the climb back to the finish and remained in third, with the rest of the field strung out behind. Comrades heroes of the past made their marks in the age groups.

Previous winner Shaun Meiklejohn was well to the fore, finishing 20th overall and first in the 40-49 age category. Colin Goosen, who crawled his way to gold in the early eighties, was second in the 50-59 category in 3:20. Helen Buley came out tops in the ladies race in 3:11:31 — well clear of second-placed Noniskelelo from the Natal Carbineers. Third-placed Donny Bridgeforp was the only other lady to finish below the 3:30 barrier.

Sunday’s times show how the performances have dropped among the upper club level runner over the past two decades. A sub three-hour marathon would only have placed runners in the top 70 to 90 in the mid and late 1980s, and to be assured of a podium place in the top three, women would also have been required to reach the finish under three hours.

Prodigal Kumalo and Sibonela Duma diced it out in the Half Marathon with Kumalo having the advantage at the line in one hour nine minutes and two seconds. Duma was almost 100 metres adrift at the line with the talented Boxer youngster Thobani Chagwa third a further 250 metres off the pace. This trio were well ahead of the rest of the field with fourth placed Shepard Chitake only crossing the line over three minutes later.

Tanith Maxwell continued her build-up to the London Marathon in April with a victorious single lap run around the Winston Park loop in 1:26:41. Maxwell’s Boxer club-mate Janene Carey was second just under two minutes later with Lisa Baumann a similar distance behind for third position and first in the 40-49 age category and just failing to break the 90-minute barrier by nine seconds.

The race was marred by the death of 78-year-old Sibinda Zwezwe of the Unbunya Club who collapsed at the four-kilometre mark. Although immediately attended to by other runners who applied CPR until paramedics arrived a few minutes later, he was pronounced dead on the scene.

Zwezwe is thought to have had a heart attack. In total 2 200 runners entered the race with 940 tackling the 42 km distance.


Men: 1 Robson Chigara Bluff Meat Formula one 2:28:15, 2 Samson Tenai Bluff Meats Formula One 2:28:29, 3 Herbert Chokera Mr Price 2:30:39, 4 Samuel Katui Bluff Meats Formula One 2:34:34, 5 Emmanuel Zungu SAP Striders 2:37:29

35-39: 1 Justice Nkosi Abaqulusi 2:39:16, 2 Peter Navura Bluff Meats F1 2:43:22, 3 Jabulani Mabaso Boxer 2:45:07

40-49: 1 Shaun Meiklejohn Nedbank 2:52:45, 3 Willie Majombozi Boxer 2:54:26, 3 Allen Ndlovu West 2:56:09

50-59: 1 Bongani Ndlovu Zabalalaza 3:17:30, 2 Colin Goosen Saints 3:20:38, 3 Simon Chilze Sydenham 3:21:43,

60+: 1 Gopal Chetty Shellcross 3:30:13, 2 Rob Edouard-Betsy YWP 3:30:41, 2 Mike Cowling Saints 3:33:35,

Women: 1 Helen Buley IND 3:11:31, 2 Noniskelelo Mbambo Ntl Carbs 3:28:36, 3 Donny

Bridgeforp Nedbank 3:29:24, 4 Wendy Durow CH 3:30:13, 5 Jenny Sutton YWP 3:30:41

35-39: 1 Katherine Perry Kearsney 3:36:24, 3 Margaret Scharein Chiltern 3:36:59, 3 Leisl Curtis CH 3:47:44

40-49: Jenny Sutton YWP 3:30:41, 2 Erica Walker Ntl Carbineers 3:33:21, 3 Megan Finestone West 3:42:25

50-59: Judy Goss AN 3:41:31, 2 Liz Chelin WEST 3:58:31, 3, Trish Winterbottom Umhlathuze 4:02:26

60+: Lynda Vivian Umhlathuze 4:28:58, 2 Maureen Parry Chiltren 4:45:26, 3 Dixie Brown Estcourt 4:54:37


Men: 1 Prodigal Kumalo Mr Price 1:09:02, 2 Sibonela Duma Boxer 1:09:18, 3 Thobani Chagwa Boxer 1:10:06, 4 Shepard Chitake Mr Price 1:13:14, 5 Tsepo Shelembe Boxer 1:13:28

35-39: 1 Thuso Mosiea Eskom 1:16:01, 2 Samson Mnyango Mtubatuba 1:21:20, 3 Claude Eksteen IND 1:22:17

40-49: 1 Nkosikhona Dlamini SAP 1:21:40, 2 Nicholas Cekwnae Nedbank 1:23:54, 3 Elias Madlala Eskom 1:24:06

50-59: 1 Mike Sutton Yellowwood P 1:32:47, 2 Barlan Govender Chats 1:33:22, 3 Gary Mann Stella 1:37:01

60+: 1 Les Smith West 1:44:17, 3 Moray Calder Howick 1:46:47, 3 Charm Naidoo Chats 1:49:38

Junior: 1 Cade pillay Woodview 1:35:15, 2 Mfanafuthi Dlamini IND 1:38:50, 3 Kyle Hattingh West 2:07:48,

Walker: 1 Ephraim Nduli IND 2:21:41, 2 David Flood AN 2:14:38, 3 Alberto Battaglia Harlequins 2:31:03

Women: 1 Tanith Maxwell Boxer 1:26:41 , 2 Janene Carey Boxer 1:28:14, 3 Lisa Baumann Mr Price 1:30:09, 4 Lisa Muchna PDAC 1:32:57, 5 Kristen Williams CH 1:33:15

Junior: 1 Geena Mechanicos Sav 1:56:57, 2 Jenny Light IND 2:11:45,

35-39: 1 Hleziphi Ncayiyana Ned 1:38:35, 2 Suzette Botha Eskom 1:39:16, 3 Kim Lowee West 1;39:55

40-49 1 Lisa Baumann Mr Price 1:30:09, 2 Lise Muchna PDAC 1:32:57, 3 Shani Silver Kearsney 1:34:50

50-59: 1 Sandy Fismer HH 1:41:10, 2 Daniela Papini Savages 1:48:17, 3 Zoe Buchan 1:49:32

60+: 1 Pat Crawley Sani 2:01:44, 2 Lynda Bell QBH 2:05:51, 3 Gill Tregenna West 2:15:24

Walker 1 Sharon Fuchs PDAC 2:19:15, 2 Sylvia Law Stella 2:31:25,


Men: 1. Khelkane Mngubane Mr Price A C 1:13:27; 2. Thulani Duma Ind 1:15:27; 3. Basil Mazibuko Mandeni A C 1:16:06

35 to 39: 1. Menzi Zwane Jabulani A C 1:25:01

40 to 49: 1. Petros Mabuso KZN Striders 1:25:14

50 to 59: 1. Caiphas Mazibuko Emnambithi A C 1:39:03

Ladies: 1. Judith Geldenhuys Estcourt A C 1:41:27

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions. publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.