SA Film and Television Awards winners

2010-02-23 00:00

LAST year’s Durban International Film Festival winner, Shirley ­Adams, was the big winner again, when it won the best feature film award at the South African Film and Television Awards (Saftas).

The film, which beat Izulu Lami (My Secret Sky) and White Wedding for the honour, is directed by newcomer Oliver Hermanus, who also won the best director in a feature film award. Denise Newman who plays the ­title role in the film, which tells the story of a woman who loses her family to violence and poverty, but gains her own sense of self worth, received the best actress gong.

The best actor honours went to Kenneth Nkosi for White Wedding, while Tshepang Mohlomi won the best supporting actor award for his role in Izulu Lami. The best supporting actress category was won by Motshabi Tyelele for Nothing But The Truth. John Kani was named best writer in a feature film for the same film.

White Lion, the film penned by ­Pietermaritzburg scriptwriter Janet van Eeden, won three awards — best cinematography for Michael Swan, best music composition for Phillip Miller and best sound design for Ivan Millborrow, Nicky de Beer and Charlotte Buys.

In the television drama category the big winner was A Place Called Home, which won five awards — best director for Akin Omotoso and Rolie Nikiwe; best supporting actress for Nolwazi Shange; best editor for Leon Rietief; best art direction for Martha Sibanyoni; and best music composition for Neil Solomon.

Other winners in the drama category included: best actor — Fana Mokoena for The Lab; best supporting actor — Terence Bridgett for Erfsondes; best actress — Linda Sokhulu for Sokhulu & Partners; best mini-drama series — Death of a Queen; best full length drama — Sokhulu & Partners; and best ensemble cast — The Lab.

In the comedy category, it was Stokvel which won big, taking home the awards for best director, best ­actor(Tshamano Sebe), and best ­ensemble cast. The best actress award went to Lawrancia Mthembu for Family Bonds.

7de Laan won the award for best soapie following a public vote, but it was Isidingo that walked off with most of the other awards. It won for best direction, best writing, best ensemble cast, best supporting actor (Jack Devnarian) and best supporting actress (Kim Engelbrecht).

The best soapie actor was Seputla Sebogodi for Generations, while his co-star, Katlego Danke, won the best actress gong.

The Saftas also honoured three people with lifetime achievement awards — Katinka Heyns for direction and production, Joe Mafela for television performance and John ­Kani for stage and film.

And posthumus lifetime achievement awards were conferred on Thys Heyns for production, Percival ­Rubens for direction, Dirk de Villiers for production, writing and direction, and Zakes Mokae for performance.

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions. publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.