SA Hockey name team for qualifiers

2012-03-23 00:00

THE South African Hockey Association released the names of the players who will do duty for the national men’s team at the Olympic Qualification Tournament (OQT) in Kakamigahara, Japan from April 26 to May 6.

The team, which will be captained by Western Province’s Austin Smith, shows three changes from the side that won the bronze medal at the Champions Challenge Tournament at Randburg Hockey Stadium on December 4.

Goalkeeper Brendon Botes of Eastern Province is replaced by Michael Smith of Witwatersrand, defender Gareth Carr of KZN Coastal Raiders is replaced by defender/midfielder Jonty Robinson of Northern Blues, and striker Miguel da Graca of Southern Gauteng is replaced by Amathole (Border) forward Julian Hykes.

“It wasn’t easy trying to find the correct balance for the team, but there are no wholesale changes and the core group is unchanged,” said SA head coach Gregg Clark.

“It’s a well-balanced side with lots of versatility and several players being able to play in different positions.

“It’s tough on the guys left out, but people must understand that at this level the margins of selection between elite athletes are very small,” said Clark. “We have never been to Japan before but this is a talented bunch with good temperaments who have been playing good, confident hockey and we accept the challenge that the tournament will bring.”

Smith is the only new cap, while Robinson and Hykes have regained their places in the team.

SA will be top seeds in Kakamigahara, followed by Japan, China, Austria, Czech Republic and Brazil. The six teams will be competing for the last available place in the 12-team Olympic Games men’s hockey event.

SA meet Brazil on April 26, Czech Republic on April 28, China on April 30, Japan on May 2, and Austria on May 4 before the classification matches, including the all-important final, on May 6.



Goalkeepers: Rassie Pieterse (Southern Gauteng), Michael Smith (Witwatersrand).

Defenders: Andrew Cronje (Western Province), Justin Reid-Ross (Northern Blues), Lance Louw (SG), Lloyd Madsen (KZN Coastal Raiders), Rhett Halkett (NB).

Midfielders: Jonty Robinson (NB), Clinton Panther (SG), Austin Smith (capt, WP), Tim Drummond (KCR), Wade Paton (KCR), Taine Paton (KCR).

Strikers: Ian Haley (WP), Marvin Harper (KCR), Lloyd Norris-Jones (WP), Julian Hykes (Amathole-Border), Thornton McDade (SG).

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions. publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.