SA hockey teams named for Africa Cup

2013-11-13 00:00

THE South African Hockey Association has released the names of players who will represent SA’s men’s and women’s national teams in the Africa Cup of Nations hockey tournament in Nairobi, Kenya, from November 18 to November 23.

The tournament, a 2014 Hockey World Cup qualifier event, was postponed from its original dates (September 26 to October 5) because of the terrorist attack in the east African city.

The SA women’s hockey team sees one change from the side originally announced, said head coach Fabian Gregory, with Northern Blues goalkeeper Phume Mbande replacing Southern Gauteng’s Sanani Mangisa, who suffered a torn Achilles tendon.

Head coach Charlie Pereira’s SA men’s side sees two changes. Defenders Matt Guise-Brown (Northern Blues) and Andrew Cronje (Western Province) are replaced due to exam and work commitments respectively. Francois Pretorius of Northern Blues comes in for Guise-Brown and debutant Greg Last of KZN Coastal Raiders replaces Cronje.

The men’s and women’s national teams that win the Africa Cup next week will qualify as the continent’s representatives at the 2014 Men’s and Women’s Hockey World Cup. The four-yearly showpiece is due to be held jointly in the Hague, Netherlands, from May 31 to June 15 next year. The SA teams are the reigning African champions, having won the last of the biannual events in Bulawayo, Zimbabwe, in September 2011.

The Africa Cup men’s and women’s tournaments will be played on a one-round league format with the top two teams playing in the respective finals next Saturday.


SA Men: Rassie Pieterse (Southern Gauteng), Jacque le Roux (Western Province), Rhett Halkett (vice-captain, WP), Francois Pretorius (Northern Blues), Greg Last (KZN Coastal Raiders), Jethro Eustice (SG), Dylan Swanepoel (WP), Mohamed Mea (KCR), Austin Smith (capt, WP), Jonty Robinson (NB), Clint Panther (SG), Wade Paton (KCR), Taine Paton (KCR), Julian Hykes (SG), Geoff Abbott (KCR), Pierre de Voux (WP), Lloyd Norris-Jones (WP), Tim Drummond. Head coach: Charlie Pereira.

SA Women: Hanli Hattingh (WP), Phume Mbande (NB), Lenise Marais (co-captain, KCR), Marcelle Keet (co-capt, Border), Lisa Deetlefs (SG), Illse Davids (WP), Celia Evans (North West), Shelley Russell (WP), Kaila Flemming (SG), Quanita Bobbs (WP), Sulette Damons (NW), Christine Roos (SG), Jade Mayne (WP), Bernie Coston (SG), Tanya Britz (Free State), Lilian du Plessis (NB), Izelle Lategan (FS), Kelly Madsen (KCR). Head coach: Fabian Gregory.


Women: November 18: SA vs Kenya (11 am)

November 19: SA vs Ghana (11 am)

November 21: SA vs Tanzania (9 am)

November 22: bronze medal match (midnight)

November 23: gold medal final (midnight)

Men: November 18: SA vs Ghana (3 pm)

November 19: SA vs Egypt (1 pm)

November 21: SA vs Kenya (3 pm)

November 22: bronze medal match (2.30 pm)

November 23: gold medal final (2.30 pm) publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.