SA junior team bring back rich haul of gold from Gaberone

2011-05-18 00:00

THE 10th African Junior championships in Gaborone, Botswana, delivered the best performance by a South African junior team for some time.

Earning 13 gold, 13 silver and eight bronze medals, the team brought back 12 more than the 2009 championships in Mauritius.

KwaZulu-Natal’s Justin ­Palframan earned silver with a personal best of 52,93 for the 400 m. However, this was not sufficient to outsprint Manedo Magiso from Ethiopia, who clocked an impressive 52,90. South Africa’s Anri Steyn was fifth in 54,84 seconds.

The province’s other representative, Simone Meyer, took bronze in the discus with a 45,41 metre throw that was well short of the 49,90 gold medal performance of team- mate Ischke Senekel.

Namibian Charlene Engel­brecht was sandwiched between the South Africans for silver with 46,10 m.

Ethiopia were second on the medals table with six gold, four silver and seven bronze, and Egypt filled the third spot also earning six gold, but only able to add two silver and three bronze.

Robert Oosthuizen continues to notch up the points in the Samsung Diamond league — finishing third to Finland’s Tero Pitkamaki, who launched his spear to 85,33 m. Norway’s Andreas Thorkildsen had to settle for second with a 85,12 m throw, while Oosthuizen repeated his third place, but was over a metre short of his Doha performance, this time achieving 83,73 m

South Africa’s 3000 m steeple chase record-holder Ruben Ramolefi was 13th overall in a race dominated by Kenyans and led home by Brimin Kipruto in eight minutes, 2,28 seconds. Ramolefi recorded 8:27:38 in a race in which nine of the top 10 were Kenyan.

Bluff Meats Formula One runners continue to come out for the sharpners prior to Comrades, with short distance exponent Munyaradzi Jari winning the first of three Sunrise Runs organised by the Kingfisher Club.

This first event took runners out on the beachfront, around the Moses Mabhida Stadium and along the beach back to North Beach — a route that Jari was able to cover in an impressive 33 minutes, 44 seconds. Mr Price’s Malvern Paradza was 100 m adrift and Sipho Ngzongo closed the podium places in 35 minutes, two seconds.

Catherine Myakwishira secured the double for the Bluff Meats club, bursting away from Loveness Madiva who finished only 150 m off the pace and well clear of Ellist Holmes, who added the 35-39 age category award to her third place.

These novel events are bringing newcomers to the sport. The next will be held on the beachfront in June, with the third and final leg down at Scottburgh during the holiday period.

Around 250 runners came raving back from the inaugural St Lucia half-marathon and 10 km races held on Sunday. The event started down at the estuary and did a double lap through the forest, the town centre and the boardwalk.

Phakamani Mythinyani was the fastest over the two-lap course in one hour, 17 minutes, with Sabelo Ntshangase second over 1200 m adrift in 1:21:42 and Nkosiyethu Ntuli a distant third almost 11 minutes from the winning time.

Winnie Mnisi had the best of the ladies’ race, crossing the line in 1:34:56 and leaving Nicola McMurray to settle for second in 1:37:59. Beatrice Hlope was an equally distant third in 1:39:54. This trio were well clear of the rest of the field.

This may not prove to be a race of speed, but is sure to grow into something special on the fixture list and an attractive weekend away for many.


10 km:

Men: 1. Munyaradzi Jari Form One AC 33:44; 2. Malvern Paradza Mr Price AC 34:12; 3. Sipho Ngzongo Ind 35:02

35-39: 1. Bernard Phalatsane Nedbank AC 37:11

40-49: 1. Enoch Ngubane Mr Price AC 38:56; 2. Willie Majombozi Boxer AC 39:22; 3. Justin Hand DHSOB 39:22

50-59: 1. Cyril Kunene Ind 38:01; 2. Nicolas Dlamini Boxer AC 41:24; 3. Innocent Ndlovu Ind 47:56

60+ Alex Jeffery Savages AC 52:30

Ladies: 1. Catherine Myakwishira Form One AC 42:50; 2. Loveness Madiva Boxer AC 43:32; 3. Ellist Holmes Ind 45:01

35-39: 1. Ellist Holmes Ind 45:01; 2. Debbie Sessions DHSOB 46:21

40-49: 1. Jeanette Davison DHSOB 47:39; 2. Maureen Slack Riverside Harr 48:44; 3. Wendy Earle Ind 51:50

50-59: 1. Lindsay Rogerson Ind 48:49; 2. Pat Fischer Stella AC 53:28; 3. June Watson PDAC 53:59

5 km:

Men: 1. Samuel Pazanga Mr Price AC 15:39; 2. Thubalethu Phaku DUT 15:43; 3. Richard Nene Mr Price AC 16:05

Ladies: 1. Siyandla Mthethwa DUT 19:02; 2. Puseletso Dladla Ind 19:32; 3. Nontokozo Mkhize Ind 20:09

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions. publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.