SA men’s and women’s hockey teams named

2008-02-07 00:00

TWO SA men’s hockey teams have been announced for the March Tests against Russia in Durban, and Germany in Potchefstroom and Randburg.

The SA women’s side to take on Canada in three Tests, during a national training camp at Pretoria’s High Performance Centre this month, has also been named.

The SA men, sponsored primarily by the Resolution Group, will first undergo a training camp in Durban from this Sunday to next Sunday.

Two men’s teams have been named as the selectors and coach Gregg Clark rest some players and bring back others in their quest to settle on the final squad of 16 (plus two non-travelling reserves) for August’s Olympic Games in Beijing.

Jenny King, head coach of the Spar SA women’s team, will be looking at the combinations and composition of the squad during the Canada series in Pretoria. The Tests are on February 21 at 4 pm, February 22 at 4 pm and February 24 at 10.30 am.

Meanwhile, the SA Hockey Association (Saha) have moved swiftly to quash reports in various sections of the media on Tuesday that the national men’s team’s participation in the Beijing Olympics is in doubt.

In a statement yesterday, Saha said: “[Saha have] had two meetings with Sascoc [the SA Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee] since July 2007.”

The statement said that Sascoc and Saha have signed an agreement on the selection policy for hockey’s participation in the Beijing Olympics and Sascoc have informed Saha of the date when the selected teams (SA men and women) would have to be presented for final approval.

Saha added that at no stage had they been in the dark about participation in the Beijing Olympics.


Men vs Russia: Rassie Pieterse, Ben Mbana, Gareth Carr, Paul Blake, Ken Forbes, Marvin Bam, Kyle Rhodes, Wade Paton, Tommy Hammond, Austin Smith,

Darryn Gallagher, Clyde Abrahams, Julian Hykes, Marvin Harper, Ian Hayley, Geoff Abbott, Lloyd Norris-Jones, Lungi Tsolekile.

Men vs Germany: Brendon Botes, Ben Mbana, Eric Rose-Innes, Justin Reid-Ross, Andrew Cronje, Lloyd Madsen, Shanyl Balwanth, Ian Symons, Austin

Smith, Bruce Jacobs, Marvin Bam, Darryn Gallagher, Thornton McDade, Emile Smith, Lungi Tsolekile, Lloyd Norris-Jones, Ian Hayley, Marvin Harper.

Women vs Canada: Mariette Rix, Sanani Mangisa, Hanli Hattingh, Cindy Brown, Taryn Hosking, Vidette Ryan, Lenise Marais, Lisa Deetlefs, Kim Hubach, Pippa Rabie, Marsha Marescia, Lesley-Ann George, Tarryn Bright, Kate Hector, Marcelle Keet, Kelly Madsen, Henna du Buisson, Kathleen Taylor, Vida Ryan, Farah Fredericks, Roxanne Turner, Dirkie Chamberlain.

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions. publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.