SA musical stars glitter at Samas

2011-05-23 00:00

HELD over two nights at Johannesburg’s Montecasino on Friday and Saturday, the MTN South African Music Award big winners included Liquideep, alternative rockers The Parlotones and kwaito star Professor. Liquideep took home Album of the Year and Duo/Group of the Year, while The Parlotones walked away with the visual awards, which included best global chart DVD, bestselling DVD and the music video of the year.

Friday night saw many of the technical awards handed out, such as best engineer and best English adult contemporary album (Freshlyground), best Afrikaans adult contemporary album (Steve Hofmeyer), best African contemporary album (Stimela) and best global dance album (Goldfish).

Saturday night was a showcase of the glitz and the glam, with the show broadcast live on air and hosted by TV and radio host Bonang Matheba, radio host Phat Joe and TV presenter Sizwe Dlhomo. The show featured performances by Tumi and the Volume, Wrestlerish, Zakes Bantwini, Rhythmic Elements and the Professor.

The awards are handed out based on a vote by a panel of over 200 industry judges, but awards such as the album of the year and the record of the year are based on votes cast by the public.

Social networks were abuzz on Friday and Saturday night, with #Sama17 trending on Twitter. The general consensus, however, was any­thing but positive, with most TV viewers criticising the production and tone of the event. “Last night was a disaster!!! #SAMAs17!!” and “I have no words! #Sama17” being some of the popular retweets.


Best Traditional Jazz Album: Tutu Puoane

Best Instrumental Album: Wouter Kellerman

Best Popular Classical Album: Peter Martens & Luis Magalhaes

Best Jazz/Instrumental/Popular Classic DVD: Sterling EQ

Best R&B/Neo-Soul Album: Leanne

Best Urban Gospel Album: Patrick Duncan

Best Urban DVD: Thandiswa

Best Reggae Album: Jah Seed

Best Producer: Leanne

Best Engineer: Freshlyground

Best Album Packaging: Versus the Wolf

Remix of the Year: Black Coffee for Stimela

Best Adult Contemporary Album: Steve Hofmeyr

Best Rock Album — Afrikaans: Van Coke Kartel

Best Country Music Album: Manie Jackson

Best Afrikaans Gospel Music Album: Willie Joubert

Best Afrikaans Traditional Music Album: Mooiplaas Boere Orkes

Best Afrikaans DVD: Romanz

Best Alternative Music Album — Afrikaans: Bittereinder

Best Kiddies Album — Afrikaans: Alta and Minki Joubert

Best Adult Contemporary Album — English: Freshlyground

Best Alternative Music Album — English: Yoav

Best Contemporary Christian Music Album: CRC Radiation

Best Global Chart DVD: The Parlotones

Best Kiddies’ Album — English: African Treehouse

Best Global Dance Album: Goldfish

Best Multi-Artist Live DVD: Huisgenoot Skouspel 2010

Best-selling True-Tone: DJ Mzi and DJ Cleo

Best-selling DVD: The Parlotones

Best South Sotho Music Album (SeSotho): Morusu

Best Tsongo Music (XiTsonga) Album: Thomas Chauke

Best Venda Music (TshiVenda) Album: Zozo Sangere

Best Alternative Music Album — African: Nomsa Mazwai

Best Mbaqanga Album: Soul Brothers

Best Adult Contemporary Album — African: Stimela

Best African Contemporary Gospel Album: Mthunzi Namba

Best Traditional African Acapella Gospel Album: Amadodana AseWesile

Best Traditional/African Adult Contemporary African DVD: Stimela

Best African Traditional Gospel Album: Sechaba — Thank You

Best Contemporary Jazz Album: Ological Studies — OS Freedom

Best Maskandi Album: Bhekumuzi Luthuli — Imali Yabelungu

Best Sokkie Dans Album: Kurt Darren — Die Beste Medisyne

Best Pop Album English: Jax Panik — I am Jax Panik

Best Urban Dance Album: DJ Kent — I can’t survive

Best Urban Pop Album: Kwela Tebza — Gauteng Made In South Africa / Mzansi

Best Pop Album Afrikaans: Juanita du Plessis — Engel Van My Heart

Best Pop Album African: Theo Kgosinkwe — Grateful

Best Rock Album English: Prime Circle – Jekyll & Hyde

Best Kwaito Album: Professor – University of Kalawa Jazmee

Best Rap Album: Amu – The Principal

MTN Best Selling Mobile Music Download: DJ Cleo & DJ Mzi

Music Video of the Year: The Parlotones — The Stars Fall Down

Best Selling Album: Locnville — Sun in my Pocket

Newcomer of the year: Locnville — Sun in my Pocket

Duo / Group of the Year: Liquideep — Fabrics of the Heart

International Achievement Award: Die Antwoord

Lifetime Achievement Award: Sipho Gumede and Lance James

Female Artist of the Year: Thandiswa Mazwai — The ForgottenFree (Live in concert)

Male Artist of the Year: Professor — University of Kalawa Jazmee

MTN Record of the Year: Professor — Imoto

Album of the Year: Liquideep — Fabrics of the Heart

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions. publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.