SA’s top sprint canoeists off to Germany

2008-06-13 00:00

South Africa’s largest team of sprint canoeists ever leaves on Tuesday for the Rhur regatta in Bochum, Germany.

With no Junior World Championships in an Olympic year, the Bochum Regatta offers the best range of international racing at a single event in Europe.

This is vital to SA paddlers, whose isolation starves them of the all-important international regatta practice enjoyed by the northern hemisphere paddlers.

U23, U18 and U16 age groups are catered for with a club category available as well.

The SA team of 34 will be contesting all three age groups and coach Attila Adrovicz is hoping the team will take the much coveted trophy for the top national team at the regatta. At the same regatta in 2007, the SA team were second only to Australia.

Adrovicz, based at Natal Canoe Club in Pietermaritzburg, is KZN’s head coach as well as the SA junior coach. His efforts over the past four years have resulted in a massive improvement in the standard of, especially, junior canoeing in the country. 2007 Junior World Marathon champion Grant van der Walt and 2007 World Sprint Championship 500-metre B final winner Stuart Waterworth both train under Adrovicz’s guidance.

KZN is represented by 22 of the 34 paddlers and Maritzburg College have six of the 15 boys under eighteen and under sixteen.

After the Bochum Regatta, some of the team will be going on to the Sprint Championships.

SA teams:

U23: Cam Schoeman (KZN), Tiaan de Klerk (KZN), Shaun Griffin (KZN), Chris Couve (KZN), Brent Chiazzari (KZN), Nick Stubbs (KZN), Stuart Hogg (KZN), Gavin White (Western Cape), Craig Mustard (KZN): U18 Boys: Stuart Waterworth (Maritzburg College), Grant van der Walt (Gauteng), Ben Biggs (St Charles College), Darren Berriman (Maritzburg College), Clint Cook (Maritzburg College), Martin van den Bergh (Gauteng), Gregor Martin (Maritzburg College), Stuart MacLaren (Michaelhouse-KZN), Matthew Shaw (Maritzburg College), Joshua Wadge (Gauteng), Seli Mashigoana (Gauteng): U18 Girls: Bianca Beavitt (Western Cape), Vicky Chiazzari (Epworth), Rochelle Locke (Gauteng), Kerry Malan (Gauteng): U16 Boys: Brandon van der Walt (Gauteng), Blaine Beresford (Maritzburg College-KZN), Billy Pullen (Clifton), Julian Atkinson (Michaelhouse): U16 Girls: Melanie van Niekerk (Western Cape), Marissa Pretorius (Western Cape), Lindsay Davis (Wykham Collegiate), Tory Neal (Wykham Collegiate), Lauren Felgate (Kingsway High), Jenna Ward (Kingsway High): Coaches: Attila Adrovicz and Craig Mustard Managers: Sandra Eardly, Mike Chiazzari and Barry de Klerk.

Join the conversation! encourages commentary submitted via MyNews24. Contributions of 200 words or more will be considered for publication.

We reserve editorial discretion to decide what will be published.
Read our comments policy for guidelines on contributions. publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Inside News24

Traffic Alerts
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.


Create Profile

Creating your profile will enable you to submit photos and stories to get published on News24.

Please provide a username for your profile page:

This username must be unique, cannot be edited and will be used in the URL to your profile page across the entire network.


Location Settings

News24 allows you to edit the display of certain components based on a location. If you wish to personalise the page based on your preferences, please select a location for each component and click "Submit" in order for the changes to take affect.

Facebook Sign-In

Hi News addict,

Join the News24 Community to be involved in breaking the news.

Log in with Facebook to comment and personalise news, weather and listings.